INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver Id vs. Volumio  (Read 1464 times)

Tsiobbel

• Junior Woodchuck
JRiver Id vs. Volumio
« on: April 10, 2020, 02:17:35 pm »

Hi,
I've been using JRiver for many years on Windows computers (more than 120.000 trecks) mostly in Flac - hi res flac and dsd - all stored on a Synology nas.

I would like to stream my music to my bedroom (yes indeed) and I'm thinking of buying a Raspberry Pi4 - 4GB with Allo Boss dac. Question is : buy a JRiver Id Sd card or use Volumio?

What are the advantages of a JRiver Id ? I've been very satisfied with JRiver and even more with the community and the quick response of all parties concerned.

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: JRiver Id vs. Volumio
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2020, 04:55:38 pm »

Search the forum for "Volumio" if you haven't already.

Quite a number of people do use it as a DLNA Renderer, but there have been some issues along the way.

If you use a JRiver Id running MC it will connect as a MC Client rather than just a DLNA Renderer. That would give you a bit better functionality, I believe. But I'm not running an Id or Volumio so can't list what the differences would be with any authority.
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes
What OS(s) and Version you are running:     Windows 10 Pro 64bit Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.572).
The JRMark score of the PC with an issue:    JRMark (version 26.0.52 64 bit): 3419
Important relevant info about your environment:     
  Using the HTPC as a MC Server & a Workstation as a MC Client plus some DLNA clients.
  Running JRiver for Android, JRemote2, Gizmo, & MO 4Media on a Sony Xperia XZ Premium Android 9.