INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Replacing a regular NUC with JRiver Id  (Read 1330 times)

Pateanu

Replacing a regular NUC with JRiver Id
« on: April 20, 2020, 05:22:42 pm »

My apologies if this is answered somewhere, but I am a newbie to this...
I am currently using MC 26 running on an Intel NUC with windows 10. Problem is, I am sick and tired of Windows downloading updates on me which require rebooting and servers not restarting automatically. In short, I would like to run MC on a dedicated device. My understanding is that my options are a NAS or JRiver Id. I am an IT professional, but had no exposure to Linux. Here are my questions:
1. If I were to use JRiver Id, do I need Linux knowledge to set it up and run (considering that I would like to port my library too from the current environment)?
2. Is JRiver Id nice and stable, meaning can I "set and forget" have my MC server up and running all the time without constant need to restart?
3. Since I already have a NUC, is there a way to reuse it and just buy the the software image for JRiver Id and convert my existing NUC to a JRiver Id?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Cheers
Rares

wer

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Replacing a regular NUC with JRiver Id
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 05:36:22 pm »

I don't know if they sell the Id software separately for Intel, although they do for Raspberry Pi.  But you could certainly just buy the Linux version of JRiver.

Another option would be to just blow away Windows 10 and put Windows 7 on the box.  You won't at least have trouble controlling Win7, and otherwise MC will work exactly the same.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 05:46:35 pm »

1. If I were to use JRiver Id, do I need Linux knowledge to set it up and run (considering that I would like to port my library too from the current environment)?