INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio Plays then Stops  (Read 990 times)

DivBy0

• Recent member
Audio Plays then Stops
« on: June 06, 2020, 09:14:23 am »

I've been using JRiver MC on Windows for many years now and it's been just great. But recently I've taken a dive into the Raspberry Pi 4. So the issues I'm having is, I can get the audio to start playing, but then after 10-20 seconds or sometimes longer, the music will eventually stop, MC just freezes.  ?
My current audio setup is:
  • 10tb external hd mounted on RPi via usb type 3
  • Raspberry Pi 4 8gb (Raspberry Pi OS (32-bit) w/desktop)
  • then usb type 2 out to Oppo 105d asynchronous usb
I have 2 general audio file formats, Flac and DFS. For testing, I'm pointing the library at 3 albums and have no auto syncing on. I can get them to play in their native format, but shortly after starting, they'll stop. I've read most of the message boards for help in this matter, but to no avail.
Does anyone have a similar setup? I've look at the log file, but not seeing any errors. Its like the data stream just stops, maybe between the HD and RPi or between RPi and the 105d.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Audio Plays then Stops
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2020, 09:22:48 am »

For testing, use only one file type.  Ordinary FLAC (not Hi Res), for example.  Test files from the local drive if possible.

Read about power limitations on the RPi.  Powering your drive from the Pi can easily cause problems.

Mike Noe

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2020, 12:07:36 pm »

There's also a VL805 beta you might try:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=273027