INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4K HDR with NUC and TV  (Read 2356 times)

Paul S.A. Renaud

• World Citizen
4K HDR with NUC and TV
« on: July 04, 2020, 09:13:55 am »

I am studying the options to start playing 4k HDR content with JRiver on a big screen. So far I am using JRiver MAC and watch video on an Apple Macbook Pro computer. All my video-material is on a Synology NAS. I was thinking of using a NUC (windows 10) with JRiver Windows and connect audio via USB to DAC (I am only into two channel) and connect video via HDMI to smart TV (with HDR 10 en DV support). What are the minimum requirements for the NUC in terms of CPU, but also GPU / Videocard. What needs to be done to have HDR10 or DV play flawlessly on the Smart TV?

BryanC

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: 4K HDR with NUC and TV
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2020, 09:30:38 am »

It's complicated and depends on the bitrate of your source content as well as your hardware display. To simplify matters I would just try and make sure that my hardware is capable of hardware decoding everything. You can achieve this with an Intel iGPU using QuickSync, and you can check generational format support here. I'm personally holding out for AV1 hardware decode for additional futureproofing which means I am waiting for the Tiger Lake NUCs. If all of your rips are 10-bit HEVC, then you can get away with hardware decoding on anything newer than Apollo Lake.

If you are using an older CPU you can always pair it with a GPU that supports hardware decoding additional formats. For Nvidia this is called PureVideo (HEVC 10-bit is Feature Set F+) and AMD's is UVD (HEVC 10-bit is UVD 6.0+).