INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 192khz Multichannel in Exclusive Mode  (Read 980 times)

jarrod2750

• Recent member
192khz Multichannel in Exclusive Mode
« on: November 24, 2020, 03:23:55 pm »

Hi newbie here to JMC 27.  So far so good except for the playing back of 192khz files that are more than two channels.  When in exclusive mode, JRiver will fold it down to two channels, but plays fine in direct sound mode. 

I know exclusive mode is supposed to eliminate all other programs from using the sound board, but is there any workaround to get 192khz multichannel to work in exclusive mode?  Or is the sound difference between direct and exclusive (wasapi) negligible?

I’m using a Nvidia 1030gt card with hdmi into a Marantz av8805

wer

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: 192khz Multichannel in Exclusive Mode
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2020, 04:28:15 pm »

Welcome to the forums...

There is no workaround needed. MC does multichannel at high sampling rates just fine. I do it every day.

DirectSound resamples audio. It's not what you want. WASAPI is better.

This is probably a configuration issue. Please post screenshots of your MC audio settings, and the output format module of DSP studio. Also a screenshot of audio path when you're playing the file.

jarrod2750

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2020, 05:22:53 pm »

I think I might of figured it out.  The first two pictures show how I originally had it set up for wasapi,with channels selected as “source number of channels”.  I changed it to 7.1 channels (third picture) and 192khz multichannel seems to work.