INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: wma files do not play on amd64 machines  (Read 2552 times)

jlee700

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« on: February 04, 2021, 07:56:15 pm »

Hello,

None of my .wma files work with MC27 amd64.

My system consists of an amd64 server and various clients. After upgrading the serrver from MC26, it failed to transcode .wma files for my iphone. I cleared the library and reimported the music files, and none of the .wma files were imported. I went back to MC26 for the server as more than 100 albums are in that format.

Now my server can serve and transcode the same .wma files, and both MC27 mac and MC27 arm64 clients can receive and play those files (no conversion necessary). But MC27 amd64 client cannot play those files, so I have to let the server convert the files and serve for MC27 amd64 client.

I wonder if I am the only one experiencing this behavior...
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7355
  • The color of Spring...
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2021, 04:21:39 am »

Are you using the latest build, 27.0.61? If not, you might try that.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 23.10 Mantic Minotaur 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | Topping D50s DAC | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13487
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2021, 08:38:58 am »

I'm a bit confused about this.
iPhones can't play wma files.
And you referenced amd64 and arm64 in the post.
Can you elaborate more? Thanks.
Logged

jlee700

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2021, 07:35:15 pm »

I'm a bit confused about this.
iPhones can't play wma files.
And you referenced amd64 and arm64 in the post.
Can you elaborate more? Thanks.

I use jremote on my iphone. My amd64 server transcodes everything to 320kpbs mp3 and serve the iphone.

I use a raspberry pi 4 as a client machine. Its OS is Raspberry OS beta, which is an arm64 system.

English is not my native language... Please let me know if more clarification is necessary.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13487
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2021, 07:23:03 pm »

No problem.
They aren't protected WMA are they?
Linux and Mac versions of MC can't do anything with those.
Logged

jlee700

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2021, 10:53:43 pm »

No they are not the DRM protected files.

MC26 plays them, MC27 arm64 & mac play them, it is only the MC27 amd64 version that has problems with those files. I hope this observation can give a clue for finding out the reason.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13487
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2021, 10:35:58 am »

No they are not the DRM protected files.

MC26 plays them, MC27 arm64 & mac play them, it is only the MC27 amd64 version that has problems with those files. I hope this observation can give a clue for finding out the reason.
Would you mind sharing the smallest one you have that doesn't play?
You could email it to bob (at) jriver (dot) com.
Thanks.
Logged

jlee700

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2021, 08:33:18 am »

Mail sent on 2/9, Bob. Thanks for looking into the problem.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13487
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2021, 09:19:39 am »

Tested it, it worked fine. Sorry it took that long to get to it.
wma files require the libav component to be downloaded.
MC does this automatically but needs to be connected to the internet when it first tries to play one.
If it does have internet access but still doesn't play some reasons might be that:
1) You are running on a non-debian distro which doesn't have a ca-certificates.crt in /etc/ssl/ (you can use the local one in MC. If you look in /usr/lib/jriver/Media\ Center\ 27 you will see a symlink that you can change to the local file).
2) Your downloaded plugin is corrupted. Look in ~/.jriver/Media\ Center\ 27/plugins. Perhaps delete anything in there, MC will re-download. Make sure directory ownership hasn't been changed from the user running MC.
Logged

jlee700

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2021, 07:53:33 pm »

Bob,

My system is debian with internet access. I run the docker version of MC by shiomax, but I am not sure if docker is to blame as a friend of mine who runs a non-docker version has experienced similar problem... My server does not have an audio output as it only serves the music files to other MC clients, by the way.

I deleted the plugins and ran the MC, and the plugins were downloaded but it failed to convert the wma files to mp3.

I tried connecting my iphone to a raspberry pi 4 client. It converted wma files ok, but then it failed to convert many flac files, notably hi-resolution files (96kHz/24bit)... Disabling the transcoding, the iphone can play flac and m4a files ok but no wma files. It seems that the only way for me to play everything on iphone is to use MC26.

Could you check if the conversion works fine on MC27? I set jremote to transcode everything to High (320kbps) quality mp3.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13487
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2021, 09:53:16 am »

Bob,

My system is debian with internet access. I run the docker version of MC by shiomax, but I am not sure if docker is to blame as a friend of mine who runs a non-docker version has experienced similar problem... My server does not have an audio output as it only serves the music files to other MC clients, by the way.

I deleted the plugins and ran the MC, and the plugins were downloaded but it failed to convert the wma files to mp3.

I tried connecting my iphone to a raspberry pi 4 client. It converted wma files ok, but then it failed to convert many flac files, notably hi-resolution files (96kHz/24bit)... Disabling the transcoding, the iphone can play flac and m4a files ok but no wma files. It seems that the only way for me to play everything on iphone is to use MC26.

Could you check if the conversion works fine on MC27? I set jremote to transcode everything to High (320kbps) quality mp3.
It does work fine.
It actually sounds like you are missing the mp3 converter.
You could look in the container in ~/.jriver/Media\ Center\ 2x\Plugins
Logged

jlee700

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2021, 04:50:35 am »

It actually sounds like you are missing the mp3 converter.

Still no conversion for wma... Is this not sufficient? The content looks almost identical to MC26 Plugins directory, except that the file sizes of those in linux_avcodec64 are different.

Code: [Select]
$ ls ~/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media\ Center\ 27/Plugins/*
'/home/jlee/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media Center 27/Plugins/linux_avcodec64':
libavcodec-jr.so.58  libavformat-jr.so.58  libswresample-jr.so.3
libavfilter-jr.so.7  libavutil-jr.so.56    libswscale-jr.so.5

'/home/jlee/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media Center 27/Plugins/linux_chromium64':
cef_100_percent.pak  devtools_resources.pak  locales
cef_200_percent.pak  icudtl.dat              snapshot_blob.bin
cef_extensions.pak   libcef.so               swiftshader
cef.pak              libEGL.so               v8_context_snapshot.bin
chrome-sandbox       libGLESv2.so

'/home/jlee/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media Center 27/Plugins/linux_mp3_encoder64':
lame


Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13487
Re: wma files do not play on amd64 machines
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2021, 08:52:52 am »

Still no conversion for wma... Is this not sufficient? The content looks almost identical to MC26 Plugins directory, except that the file sizes of those in linux_avcodec64 are different.

Code: [Select]
$ ls ~/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media\ Center\ 27/Plugins/*
'/home/jlee/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media Center 27/Plugins/linux_avcodec64':
libavcodec-jr.so.58  libavformat-jr.so.58  libswresample-jr.so.3
libavfilter-jr.so.7  libavutil-jr.so.56    libswscale-jr.so.5

'/home/jlee/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media Center 27/Plugins/linux_chromium64':
cef_100_percent.pak  devtools_resources.pak  locales
cef_200_percent.pak  icudtl.dat              snapshot_blob.bin
cef_extensions.pak   libcef.so               swiftshader
cef.pak              libEGL.so               v8_context_snapshot.bin
chrome-sandbox       libGLESv2.so

'/home/jlee/docker/jriver/config/.jriver/Media Center 27/Plugins/linux_mp3_encoder64':
lame
That looks ok.
Do other formats convert to mp3 ok?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up