INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Starting MC before login  (Read 1969 times)

tij

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Starting MC before login
« on: May 12, 2021, 01:31:12 am »

Some russian dude is asking for help in Russian forum

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,129430.0.html

I have no experience with Linux so cannot help him. So thought to pass on request here.

Basically he builds headless MC box and whant to start MC before user login. My guess he wants to run MC as a service. How to do that?
HTPC: Win11 Pro, MC: latest 31(64b), NV Driver: v425.31, CPU: i9-12900K, 32GB RAM, GeForce: 2080ti
Screen: LG 2016 E6
NAS: FreeNAS 11.1, SuperMicro SSG-5048R-E1CR36L, E5-1620v4, 64GB ECC RAM, 18xUltrastar He12-SAS3 drives, 2x240GB SSD (OS)

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: Starting MC before login
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2021, 08:50:08 am »

Some russian dude is asking for help in Russian forum

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,129430.0.html

I have no experience with Linux so cannot help him. So thought to pass on request here.

Basically he builds headless MC box and whant to start MC before user login. My guess he wants to run MC as a service. How to do that?

MC needs a running x11 session in order to start at all, so there's no way to run it before a user has logged in.  What I do is run a headless server that auto-logs in to a desktop environment or window manager as a user (I use XFCE) and then I setup a systemd service to start MC after the x11 session has started.  There's no way to start MC without some kind of running x11 session, and I know of no way to start an x11 session without some kind of user logged in.