INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Loudness war - your opinion  (Read 2161 times)

tij

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Loudness war - your opinion
« on: August 28, 2021, 04:03:48 am »

One of my CDs is partially damaged and some of the tracks cannot be accurately extracted.

I got my hand on Remastered version and able to accurately rip it. Then compared with tracks I was able to accurately extract from origial.

Well ... seems loudness war is global phenome ... can clearly see volume boost and clipping it caused.

What interest me from technical point of view ... if Remastered version was done from 24 bit - wouldn't portions of sound that does not get clipped/compressed have more details in it? ... in other words, you get more "details" in uncompressed/unclipped portion of music at expense of compression/clipping in louder portion?

Just want to hear your opinion

PS: i am hunting for the original version of my damaged CD :/ ... not easy task at streaming age

EDIT: yellow is Remastered

EDIT2: also ... your lustening levels are close to Remastered ... wouldnt boosting analogue volume of original recording also boost equipment noise levels

HTPC: Win11 Pro, MC: latest 31(64b), NV Driver: v425.31, CPU: i9-12900K, 32GB RAM, GeForce: 2080ti
Screen: LG 2016 E6
NAS: FreeNAS 11.1, SuperMicro SSG-5048R-E1CR36L, E5-1620v4, 64GB ECC RAM, 18xUltrastar He12-SAS3 drives, 2x240GB SSD (OS)

antenna

• Galactic Citizen
Re: Loudness war - your opinion
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2021, 09:59:52 am »

I noticed a similar thing and commented on it here, also with loudness graphs...

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,78945.msg888026.html#msg888026

=========
Vinyl: Shure V15VxMR, Shure VN5MR stylus, VPI Scout turntable
Shellac: Shure M91, Shure N75-3 stylus,  Dual 1218 turntable