INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recommended way to tag multiple artists, particularly for Classical Music  (Read 1624 times)

citysoundman

• Recent member

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to MC but I am really loving it! Right now I'm revising my tags for my classical music collection. There's some fantastic info in old thread https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,86996.0.html that I'm using as reference. But one thing that seems unclear is how to best tag multiple artists on the same track.

It seems that different platforms use different methods, but for MC what I've learned is that if you separate artists with a semi-colon (no spaces, just a semi-colon) then that track is associated with all the artists in that field. So for a track played by Yo-Yo Ma and Emanuel Ax, if I enter in the artist tag
Yo-Yo Ma;Emanuel Ax
then when I search either Yo-Yo Ma or Emanuel Ax I can see the track in question.

But other users in that thread use a comma or underscore to separate multiple artists. Such as
Yo-Yo Ma, Emanuel Ax
This seems to create a single artist entry named "Yo-Yo Ma, Emanuel Ax" which doesn't let me see the track if I'm looking at all tracks under artist>Yo-Yo Ma or artist>Emanuel Ax.
But it does create a unique artist which includes both musicians.
Then, there are all sorts of albums with more artists, let's say a quintet, that has 5 artists. Isn't it best to use the semi-colon method so each artist can be searched individually?

So I'm wondering if there's some consensus on this, or maybe it just comes down to personal preference.