INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed  (Read 770 times)

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« on: December 09, 2023, 04:34:15 pm »

Can this be fixed in v32?

Scenario: I import a video file that imports as a "Home Media" Media Sub Type and change its Media Sub type to "Movie". I then try to use a Movie-based smart link, but the smart link doesn't exist, because MC doesn't recognize the change in Media Sub Type.

If I close and then reopen MC (the app and the server), the smart link recognizes the change and works correctly.

Can this be fixed?

I raised it in v31:
https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,136446.msg945233.html#msg945233
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41972
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2023, 09:54:59 am »

Today we cache the search results for the run of the program.  We're thinking about if there's a way to handle changes other than a restart.  Thanks.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41972
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2023, 10:00:07 am »

We'll just add a menu item to reset the cache.  Because the search could be really complicated so doing it automatically would be tricky.  Thanks again.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2023, 02:24:57 am »

Thanks for looking into this!

Will the fix wait to appear in v32?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41972
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2023, 06:38:09 am »

Yes, coming in 32.  Thanks again.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2024, 03:30:13 pm »

Has this been fixed?
Logged

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2024, 12:49:50 am »

After doing some browsing through the menus, I found the solution was added here:
Tools--> Links--> Reset Search Cache or Alt+t, n, e

Thanks for adding this feature!

I hope this helps someone else in the future!

Ed
Logged

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2024, 04:39:00 pm »

I found a bug with resetting the search cache:

If a file is selected, the sequence "Alt+t, n, e" works.

If a file isn't selected, the sequence is "Alt+t, n, r".

It seems like the keystroke sequence should be the same for either case?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41972
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2024, 04:45:12 pm »

One of your links takes the "R".  We could move the reset to the top of the menu I suppose...
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2024, 05:03:32 pm »

Ahh ... I see! The conflict is the Smart Link for Rotten Tomatoes, which I believe is a default link delivered by MC, so it would be a different keystroke sequence for everyone that still has the Rotten Tomatoes Smart Link.

Would moving it to the top solve the problem? If so, that would be my preference.

Logged

elprice7345

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
Re: Smart Links Not Working When Media Subtype is Changed
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2024, 10:24:50 pm »

This was fixed in 32.0.37.

Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up