INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels  (Read 341 times)

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« on: January 27, 2024, 08:14:29 pm »

Hi Guys, I think there's a DSP issue when playing music that's over 8 channels. I can reproduce this every time.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Set Output Format to anything over 8 channels (can be 7.1 plus 4 extras or just 12 channels etc....)
2. Play a four channel quad album.

Results - Only three channels will be output.

If I set Output Format to 7.1, all four channels are output.

My system has 12 channels. I'm testing routing audio to the correct channels using the MC Parametric EQ 2 "move" feature. Ideally I can create presets for 4.0, 5.1, 7.1, etc... music so it's routed correctly before entering the convolution filter that's configured for 12 channels.
Logged

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2024, 08:18:03 pm »

I see that selecting 7.1 output format automatically routes the audio from quad to the right channels.

Why not add a 7.1.4 output format and route the audio correctly for that?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41900
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2024, 07:31:45 am »

I need some help reproducing this.  I have a four channel file.

I play it back at 7.1 or 7.1 with four extra channels.

When I watch Analyzer, I can't see a difference.  Your report is that some of the channels should be fumbled when I add the extra channels.

Can you help me reproduce?  Thanks.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2024, 09:07:44 am »

I need some help reproducing this.  I have a four channel file.

I play it back at 7.1 or 7.1 with four extra channels.

When I watch Analyzer, I can't see a difference.  Your report is that some of the channels should be fumbled when I add the extra channels.

Can you help me reproduce?  Thanks.
Hi Matt!

Sure thing.

If you look at Analyzer you can see four channels appear in the large window, but look at the volume levels. They are zero for some channels.

Here are two images. One is set to 12 channels and the other to 7.1. Look at the volume RMS at the top.

Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41900
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2024, 09:12:31 am »

I get SR and SL when I play as 12 channel with JRSS mixing enabled.  Have you picked no mixing instead?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2024, 09:13:16 am »

Here are Audacity captures of the different Output configs.

You can see 7.1 is correct. 12 channel doesn't know what to do with the channels and only outputs three of the four.
Logged

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2024, 09:14:04 am »

I get SR and SL when I play as 12 channel with JRSS mixing enabled.  Have you picked no mixing instead?
Correct. I have picked no mixing. I figured because no mixing works with 7.1 it should work with 12. Is this assumption incorrect?
Logged

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2024, 09:15:58 am »

Using JRSS mixer really messes up the audio. This is supposed to be four channels.

Logged

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2024, 09:19:19 am »

Ideally I could select 7.1.4 in the Channels section and the mapping would look like this.

Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41900
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2024, 09:20:27 am »

It's just a channel routing problem if you do no mixing.  Analyzer shows something in the center channel even though the source doesn't have center.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2024, 09:22:47 am »

It's just a channel routing problem if you do no mixing.  Analyzer shows something in the center channel even though the source doesn't have center.
Yes, but it only shows three of the four channels as well. If all four channels went through, they should either be 1, 2, 3, 4 or mapped correctly. not, 1, 2, 3 and nothing else.

Or am I looking at this wrong?
Logged

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2024, 09:25:52 am »

It's like it thinks there's a subwoofer channel but no subwoofer specified to send the audio.

Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41900
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2024, 09:46:39 am »

When we're in SURROUND_MODE_NONE we say there's no subwoofer so silence channel 3 instead of map it through.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

The Computer Audiophile

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DSP Issue Over 8 Channels
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2024, 09:50:07 am »

When we're in SURROUND_MODE_NONE we say there's no subwoofer so silence channel 3 instead of map it through.

Ok. Understood.

Is it crazy to think there should be a proper 7.1.4 channel option in addition to the 5.1, 7.1 etc...?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up