INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to get old docker image updated on new NAS  (Read 401 times)

joetiii

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
How to get old docker image updated on new NAS
« on: March 03, 2024, 07:35:16 am »

My Synology NAS died and was replaced with a new unit, same model. I have gotten the new device installed and the device has been reindexing my files for the past 24 hours.

First issue is that Docker is no longer in the Synology DSM. I found Shiomax/MC in what is now called Container Manager. When I try opening MC28 in my web browser, I get the header but nothing else as the image doesn't seem to be running. When I go to the image itself, it shows there is an update available.  Since I never have had to do an update like this before, I am a bit cautious because I remember how difficult is was for my pea brain to set all this up originally. So when I go to install the update, I get a message that says "To prevent data loss, make sure you have followed notes on the Docker Hub page of this image before updating."

Since Docker is no longer on my system, I am unsure where to find these notes. And then secondly, is this just a standard message that I don't need to worry about?

BTW, I want to get this updated first and then update to MC32 once a stable Linux version is available.
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7489
  • When Summer comes...
Re: How to get old docker image updated on new NAS
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2024, 07:58:02 am »

FYI, MC32 is pretty much already stable right now.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/500GB M.2 NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | JBL 306P MkII Studio Monitors | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

joetiii

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: How to get old docker image updated on new NAS
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2024, 08:17:45 am »

FYI, MC32 is pretty much already stable right now.

So am I best to not bother with getting MC28 updated, and go straight to MC32.

I kinda wanna know that Shiomax is working on the server first rather than have issues with that update that were caused by MC28 issues or Synology migration issues.
Logged

max096

  • MC Beta Team
  • Galactic Citizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
Re: How to get old docker image updated on new NAS
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2024, 11:10:23 am »

So when I go to install the update, I get a message that says "To prevent data loss, make sure you have followed notes on the Docker Hub page of this image before updating."

It sais in the readme of the image that you have to mount the /config directory to something as thatīs where mc will store the data inside the container. If you update without having done that you will be greeted with a new install of mc after updating and your library will be gone. Also any backups mc did as those would also go into that folder.

Since Docker is no longer on my system, I am unsure where to find these notes. And then secondly, is this just a standard message that I don't need to worry about?

Itīs a standard message and it canīt really be more specific than "read the manual of the image you are deploying".

So am I best to not bother with getting MC28 updated, and go straight to MC32.

I kinda wanna know that Shiomax is working on the server first rather than have issues with that update that were caused by MC28 issues or Synology migration issues.

If you want your old library back you need to find where you put the config directory to get a backup from your old mc install. You probably would see this in container manager somewhere.

Clicking update on the current image you have setup should also be save though. It wonīt really delete anything. If the config directory is mapped correctly it should just work. If it isnīt well.. then you have a new install and your old config directory either still is somewhere to be found or it was never there to begin with.

The instruction the message was refering to you can find here for the mc28 image: https://hub.docker.com/r/shiomax/jrivermc28

Or here for the newer images: https://gitlab.com/shiomax/jrivermc-docker
(the dockerhub page for the newer images just links you to this gitlab page as dockerhub has a character limit so... it no longer fits)

Long term it would probably be better to go with the newer images and mc32. Iīm only really rebuilding images for the last 3 mc versions to get os updates etc. You (can) keep them alive indefinitely if you want to. As the source code is available and you can keep building them yourself. Or ssh into the container and apt update every now and then. Depends if you want to deal with it or not. You could ofc also just not care about updates. Not sure how long it would run. Theoretically, docker can be used to run older software somewhat indefinitely. But realistically this isnīt gonna work until the end of times.
Logged

joetiii

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: How to get old docker image updated on new NAS
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2024, 06:57:55 am »

OK so I created a config folder outside of docker and copied the config folders that were inside the docker folder so I am thinking I should be good to do the update. I also am going to create a backup folder outside too just in case.

This is what I see now. and should be alright, right?

Once this is running to my satisfaction, I am ready to load MC32.

Logged

max096

  • MC Beta Team
  • Galactic Citizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
Re: How to get old docker image updated on new NAS
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2024, 09:31:55 am »

OK so I created a config folder outside of docker and copied the config folders that were inside the docker folder so I am thinking I should be good to do the update. I also am going to create a backup folder outside too just in case.

This is what I see now. and should be alright, right?

Once this is running to my satisfaction, I am ready to load MC32.



Dont know whatever folder you mapped to /config in your container setup it does not show in your screenshot. You pick what folder is what on container creation. How they are named on your filesystem is irrelevant. You can organize them however makes the most sence to you.

The one in docker/config does look right. Not sure why you have another one in data/config. Is that a "config" dir for something else? Or did you just end up with multiple after some trial and error setup? If the other one does look similar and you are not sure you are just gonna have to try both and sort out which was the one you where using.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up