INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Something went wrong with playback [Solved]  (Read 480 times)

graham.colbourne

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Something went wrong with playback [Solved]
« on: March 09, 2024, 01:53:21 pm »

I would appreciate some help having checked all usual settings. I am unable to play any audio file. Tried different outputs and different file types - sound cards, internal speaker, external headphones. A log file is attached. Get the message below:
"Playback Problem
Something went wrong with playback.
Details:
Playback could not be started on the output 'Core Audio1
using the format '44.1 kHz 2ch'.
This output format may not be supported by your hardware.
You can use DSP Studio to change the output to a
compatible format.
Also, make sure that your system has a valid sound
playback device and that it is properly configured in
playback options."
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13577
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2024, 03:29:21 pm »

I would appreciate some help having checked all usual settings. I am unable to play any audio file. Tried different outputs and different file types - sound cards, internal speaker, external headphones. A log file is attached. Get the message below:
"Playback Problem
Something went wrong with playback.
Details:
Playback could not be started on the output 'Core Audio1
using the format '44.1 kHz 2ch'.
This output format may not be supported by your hardware.
You can use DSP Studio to change the output to a
compatible format.
Also, make sure that your system has a valid sound
playback device and that it is properly configured in
playback options."
The log says you are trying to play 4 track audio (Quadraphonic) on a 2 channel device.
If it really is 4 track going into DSP studio for and change the channel output to 2 (stereo) under output format.
Logged

graham.colbourne

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2024, 11:59:49 am »

Thank you for checking the log and informing me. However, I had already tried the dsp settings on "source number" and "stereo". I have never set to "4 input". I tried again and still the same fault.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13577
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2024, 08:38:15 am »

Why do you have
Tool->Options->Audio->Device Settings->Channel Offset set to 4?
Logged

graham.colbourne

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2024, 09:06:34 am »

I tried adjusting channel offset (0, 2, 4 etc) as suggested in the device settings window to see if the setting was problematic. However no change.

I use RME sound cards and been checking possibility of drivers malfunctioning with Sonoma 14.4. At present I am not getting the "problem with playback" window, just no sound output. Also no playback signal showing in RME Totalmix software
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13577
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2024, 09:56:52 am »

I tried adjusting channel offset (0, 2, 4 etc) as suggested in the device settings window to see if the setting was problematic. However no change.

I use RME sound cards and been checking possibility of drivers malfunctioning with Sonoma 14.4. At present I am not getting the "problem with playback" window, just no sound output. Also no playback signal showing in RME Totalmix software
Check the volume control in MC. You may have to disable it or choose internal only.
Also the device may have it's own CoreAudio driver as opposed to going through the core audio device in MC.
Finally, if exclusive mode is enabled in MC's Audio device settings, try disabling it.
Logged

graham.colbourne

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2024, 11:15:31 am »

Thank you for these suggestions Bob. I will problem-solve further over next days and report back
Logged

graham.colbourne

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2024, 02:27:20 pm »

Just to confirm the problem is now resolved was linked with sound card driver and not with Media Center. Thank you for assistance, much appreciated
Logged

zyss

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Something went wrong with playback [Solved]
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2024, 09:31:09 am »

I am also having problems with playback using RME Adi-2 DAC. I did not have them with the old version of MC (24). Could you please share your way of solving your problem with RME?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up