INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)  (Read 501 times)

High-End

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« on: March 14, 2024, 02:17:57 am »

TeamViewer was such a pain in the ass. Recurring accusations of commercial use. Otherwise, it was a good tool for Windows / Android.
That's why I switched to MS-RMD. It comes with Win11_64 and the Android client was quickly installed.
Connecting also works so far. But then I always lose the output tone from the HTPC.
Where do I have to set something so that RMD access does not interfere with / prevent / redirect the current output from MC 32.x?
Thnaks
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2434
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2024, 02:54:49 am »

In RDP connection settings:
Show options > Local Resources > Remote audio settings: Play on remote computer
Logged

High-End

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2024, 01:23:46 am »

Good hint until I closed the RDP connection. At that time the music disappear ;-(

edit:
The music goes out, but the reason seems to be MC: It simply stops its service. Seems to be a bug (?).
Pause and then press play again doesn't make any difference. The time display remains unchanged. Restarting MC brings the system back to life...
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2434
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2024, 03:14:45 am »

That's a known issue unfortunately:
https://www.google.com/search?q=rdp+audio+stops+on+disconnect

The thing is, RDP creates a new desktop session when you connect (like a different user logging in), and the session is closed/paused when you disconnect - even if you don't log off, windows will release as many resources as it can from that temporary session.

You could try shadowing the Console session - ie, same desktop as the main logged in user - with this command (replace HOSTNAME):
mstsc /v:HOSTNAME /prompt /control /noConsentPrompt /shadow:1

This is not ideal though - the session number (1) may change, it always asks for credentials, and it's generally annoying. I much prefer to use RealVNC - you can setup a VNC desktop shortcut to connect directly to the target machine and it's seamless. Auto-scaling of the screen also works perfectly, which is tricky with RDP.
Logged

High-End

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2024, 12:43:46 pm »

I wrote a mail to their support. but because it is a lite version, they wont help...
---------
running realVNC lite "VNC-Server-7.10.0-Windows-en-64bit" on a HTPC and want to connect from a PC within a LAN. Both PC's are Win11pro clients.
trying to connect the SRV within the "VNC-Viewer-7.10.0-Windows-en-64bit" I get the info: "VNC Server does not have any configured Authentication schemes. Please check the VNC Server configuration and try again."
The SRV on HTPC shows no GUI, so there is no point where I can config anything...
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2434
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2024, 12:59:13 pm »

There's an icon in the tray bar (next to the clock) that you can right-click to open the settings/menu.
If it's not there, you can start it via the shortcuts added to the Start Menu.

I'm actually using TightVNC:
https://www.tightvnc.com/

If you decide to try it, you should first uninstall RealVNC.
Logged

High-End

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2024, 03:22:05 pm »

TightVNC:
-> GlavSoft LLC / Russian Federation....

But it did the job on a win11 PC. But it is not Samsung Galaxy Tab S22 compatible ;-(
Thanks
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7451
  • When Summer comes...
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2024, 04:13:39 pm »

I personally use RustDesk, works pretty well.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 32GB RAM/500GB M.2 NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | JBL 306P MkII Studio Monitors | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2434
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2024, 04:23:14 pm »

But it did the job on a win11 PC. But it is not Samsung Galaxy Tab S22 compatible ;-(
Thanks

Generally speaking, you can use any VNC Viewer with any other VNC Server, the protocol is [mostly] the same. So try RealVNC Viewer on your tablet. I've also used UltraVNC in the past, quite good and open source. [uvnc.com]
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2434
Re: move from TeamViewer to MS-RDP... no sound ;-)
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2024, 04:25:13 pm »

I personally use RustDesk, works pretty well.

Nice, thanks for the pointer! AnyDesk also works well.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up