INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?  (Read 1129 times)

Sky King

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« on: March 04, 2024, 02:23:14 pm »

Issue:  I am running another program that is doing something with the optical disc drive installed on the system.  I want to listen to or watch something, so I start up MC and, right out of the chute, MC tries to "analyze" the disc that was already inserted and being used by another application.  I have everything set to "Nothing" in the Tools > Options > CD, DVD, & BD yet the program throws up a message saying the disc is being analyzed and the application that I was using to "back up" my disc gets all disconcerted as the disc gets thrashed by MC.  Windows autoplay is also set to "nothing".

What am I missing?

Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71812
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2024, 03:58:53 pm »

Try a Google search on autoplay problems.
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2024, 02:21:50 pm »

best of luck.  i have found no combination which stops this between Windows and MC.  MC insists on analyzing the disc no matter what I have tried.  so when i make backups of discs, i shut Media Center down as it nearly always interferes with the optical drives.  i know i can use MC to backup discs, but for movies, I prefer external program(s).

I've googled around and come up empty.  and it's Media Center doing the scanning/analyzing here not Windows, so I chalk it up to MC just wants to scan a disc when it's inserted.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71812
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2024, 02:34:21 pm »

MKV?
Logged

Sky King

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2024, 02:54:52 pm »

Google never seems to be "my friend" with issues such as this.  I agree with "The Shoe"and simply work around the issue by not running MC when I am using my favorite backup tool which is DVDFab for me at the present time.
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2452
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2024, 03:36:29 pm »

If you don't use MC for ripping you can try disabling the "CD Ripping" and "DVD Ripping" features in General > Features.
I don't know if it works, just a thought.
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2024, 07:41:56 pm »

There's no "disable" there that I could find.

I have always had the Autoplay options for CD/DVD/BD to "Let Windows Handle", but that I expect does what it says: it doesn't autoplay; however the disc scan still happens.

-

The other option that often works is to just make sure Media Center is the active window when I insert a disc.  Once the "Analyzing" dialog appear, I can hit "Cancel".  That way I don't have to close Media Center every time.  If Media Center is not the active window, then it just hangs on the Analyze most of the time and I have to go into Task Manager and kill the MC process because when analyzing, the GUI is completely unresponsive if not the active window.

Logged

craigmcg

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2024, 07:46:09 pm »

Hi, I've noticed this recently as I have been doing some bulk CD ripping using a different software too and what I found worked for me was to close Media Server (which I have start on  Windows start for library use). My theory based on this behavior is that the Media Server is not seeing/reading the MC autoplay options selected when a disk is inserted and acting based on default(s).

Logged

Dawgincontrol

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • We have met the enemy and he is us.
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2024, 08:44:23 pm »

Maybe it's in the default programs for file types in windows.

Also know somewhere is a selection in Windows as to what to do when a cd is inserted.  I always have selected "Do Nothing" but I don't remember where that is.

Logged

craigmcg

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2024, 04:50:52 am »

Maybe it's in the default programs for file types in windows.

Also know somewhere is a selection in Windows as to what to do when a cd is inserted.  I always have selected "Do Nothing" but I don't remember where that is.

I just found the auto-play in Win 11 under Settings - Bluetooth and Devices - AutoPlay and will try this later to see if it resolves the issue for me.
Logged

Sky King

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2024, 06:47:00 am »

If you don't use MC for ripping you can try disabling the "CD Ripping" and "DVD Ripping" features in General > Features.
I don't know if it works, just a thought.

Zybex, this appears to have worked for me but I will continue to monitor and update with any additional information should I need to.
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2452
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2024, 08:26:41 am »

There's no "disable" there that I could find.

Open Tools->Options and type "ripping" in the search box at the bottom.
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2024, 08:51:32 am »

Open Tools->Options and type "ripping" in the search box at the bottom.

Right - I found that.  The closest thing in there is that you can uncheck "Enable Auto Rip Mode", which has always been unchecked for me.

I think this is just MC always wanting to analyze the disc based on an OS level event when a disc is inserted into an optical drive.

I'm going to try Windows 11 Autoplay configuration - setting Removable Drive to "take no action" and see if that makes a difference.

Logged

Sky King

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2024, 08:56:59 am »

I'm going to try Windows 11 Autoplay configuration - setting Removable Drive to "take no action" and see if that makes a difference.

I could be wrong, but I am not sure that an optical drive is considered a "removeable drive" by Windows.  I believe that designation my only apply to things like USB drives, etc.

And thanks to Zybex for helping me out.
Logged

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2452
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2024, 10:01:08 am »

Right - I found that.  The closest thing in there is that you can uncheck "Enable Auto Rip Mode", which has always been unchecked for me.
Check the screenshot below.

@King, optical drive is removable as you can remove the media; ie, not guaranteed to be available.
Logged

whoareyou

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2024, 01:52:03 pm »

If you haven't done so already, check your control panel settings for autoplay.
Logged
Windows 11 Pro
Intel i7-12700K / 32MBRam /
ASUS Dual GeForce RTX 4070
4K Sony x900h

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2024, 08:49:31 pm »

Check the screenshot below.

@King, optical drive is removable as you can remove the media; ie, not guaranteed to be available.

ugh.  thanks!  pilot error :)

toggled them.  we'll see how it goes.  thanks
Logged

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2024, 01:10:41 pm »

Did some testing on this, and unchecking the "CD Ripping" and "DVD Ripping" in MC, as well as configuring AutoPlay in Windows to "Take No Action", made no difference.

MC still pops up "Analyzing....." window (inconsistently - sometimes it does not but I find no discernable pattern), and I still need to hit "Cancel" if I can catch it in time as it locks up the ability to bring MC into focus until it's done with the analysis.

Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71812
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2024, 01:14:35 pm »

makeMKV?
Logged

whoareyou

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2024, 03:02:48 pm »

Did you check AutoPlay setting in control panel i.e not windows settings?  T Long time ago, I had similar issue and found I had to change setting in this location.
Logged
Windows 11 Pro
Intel i7-12700K / 32MBRam /
ASUS Dual GeForce RTX 4070
4K Sony x900h

TheShoe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 819
Re: Autoplay: Is it an MC thing or a Windows thing?
« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2024, 06:49:38 am »

Did you check AutoPlay setting in control panel i.e not windows settings?  T Long time ago, I had similar issue and found I had to change setting in this location.

@Jim - MakeMKV or AnyDVD.  Same results.

@whoareyou - good catch.  I don't think I set it correctly there, so just to prove a point, I set every option to "Take No Action".  So far, so good, but given I could not reliably cause MC to pop up the "Analyzing.." dialog, I'll give it time to see. 

I would like to know if JRiver can share, what triggers that dialog in MC.  Is it listening for events from Windows?

---

EDIT: Just after I posted this, I started a backup using AnyDVD, and MC popped up "Analyzing Optical Disc..."
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up