INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New TV Setup  (Read 504 times)

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
New TV Setup
« on: April 13, 2024, 08:44:34 am »

Hi

Have just bought a new TV (Samsung QN90C 50") it's 3840 x 2160.

My laptop with Media Center on it is 1920 x 1080 is below the TV.

What I am trying to do is have Media center open on the laptop, then when I go to Theatre View, Theatre View only opens on the TV and
Media Center stays open on the laptop below (or disappears as long as it returns to the laptop when I escape Theatre View).

I know I will have to use "Extend Displays" to achieve this.  I can use "Duplicate Displays" which was fine when I had a 1080p TV but I am unable to set separate resolutions unless I use "Extend Displays", and Theatre View always opens on the laptop even when I drag Media Center up to the TV.

Have set laptop to 2160 but things like JRVR OSD are off the screen.

What am I missing

Thanks in advance

Steve


Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2024, 02:36:16 am »

Well after a nights searching I found a post in the forum

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=98205.0

Anyway its doing the view bit sort of ok but I can't get the 3840 x 2160 TV in Theatre View mode to go to 3840 x 2160
It seems to be stuck at 1600 x 900 I have no idea where this has come from and the frame drops are crazy

FYI, have set correct resolution in Windows and Nvidia control panel

See my pictures below for details

Any help would be appreciated

Steve

Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2024, 03:07:18 am »

Ok

Gone back to "Duplicate Display" for now

As you can see in the photo attached the resolution numbers make sense and the frame drops are gone (picture looks a bit grainy though)

But having to tell my laptop to have a resolution of 3840 x 2160, so is my graphics card having to do too much work?

Hope somebody can explain all this to me in simple terms

Steve
Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2410
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2024, 06:22:15 am »

You should use "Extended" mode and set the Full Screen monitor in MC options.
Also enable "General > Advanced > Enable per-monitor DPI scaling", and check your resolution settings in "Video > Display Settings" - try setting it to Off or On first, then try the custom modes.
Logged

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2024, 06:32:16 am »

Thank you will try this out

Cheers

Steve
Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2024, 08:50:46 am »

Thanks zybex

May have got it sorted, what a game

Set up as you suggested, but the "Set full screen monitor #2" would not let me go higher than "desktop settings" which stuck at 1080. and playing in Theatre View showed 1600 x 900 again on the wrong size OSD (where this number comes from I don't have a clue) see pictures

So I set the TV as the default monitor and went through your suggestions again and it seems to work, even the HDR passthrough, and OSD is right size.

And no dropped/repeated frames after pressing ctrl r to reset, I guess performance "avg/peak ms" is within limits

Obviously the desktop in now on my TV and the laptop below is blank, but MC opens in the laptop screen and I can drag its short cut down if needs be

Do others have to go through this or just (Senior) me?

Thanks again

Steve

 
Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2410
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2024, 10:14:10 am »

Strange, may be a bug.
Desktop Settings should mean whatever is set in Windows for that monitor, which is 4K.
Logged

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2024, 12:29:40 pm »

Quote
Strange, may be a bug.
Desktop Settings should mean whatever is set in Windows for that monitor, which is 4K.

Possibly, the "Enable per-monitor DPI scaling" does say experimental so may not have been looked at for a while.

And what are "Desktop Settings", to me the desktop is the screen where the computer starts and shows your icons, task bar, clock etc
Windows and Nvidia settings all said my external Monitor (TV) was at 3840 x 2160 but MC was trying to set the desktop settings of 1920 x 1080

Now the "Desktop" is moved to the TV I am able to get it working.

Just watched 4 episodes of Masters Of The Air in 3K and the picture was excellent

Fingers crossed it stays working

 
Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

zybex

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2410
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2024, 02:55:19 pm »

Funny, I was just starting episode 4 of MotA as I read this :)
Logged

HPBEME

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Hoisted by his own petard - Lock him up!
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2024, 11:14:49 pm »

I have not been on the forum for a few days, otherwise I would've weighed in earlier myself. It looks like you've arrived at the correct solution on your own however. 

The key when you have two different resolutions is to set the OS primary display (i.e., the desktop) to be the monitor with the highest resolution.  As long as you do that, you should have no issues.
Logged

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2024, 03:54:09 am »

Quote
The key when you have two different resolutions is to set the OS primary display (i.e., the desktop) to be the monitor with the highest resolution.  As long as you do that, you should have no issues.

Yes this seems to be the answer, surprised I haven't seen this info on the forums before, I would have thought there are many setups similar to mine, i.e. a HTPC with a small screen connected to a high res TV or monitor, maybe on some setups it just works, (As my TV and HTPC laptop were previously the same resolution it worked)

Tested this morning by turning on/off PC and TV and putting TV to satellite input to make sure Windows 11 in it's wisdom did not revert back when it could not find my TV connected, all seems well and it remembered window and monitor positions

One last question, if I back up my library will that back up all the settings I have changed in options?

Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32

HPBEME

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
  • Hoisted by his own petard - Lock him up!
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2024, 09:16:53 am »

One last question, if I back up my library will that back up all the settings I have changed in options?
I presume it would. You can always search the user and machine settings.txt files to see exactly what is captured. Those files are located in a MC library subfolder located here:

C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\J River\Media Center 32\Library\Settings
Logged

Guernsey

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Guernsey
Re: New TV Setup
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2024, 10:31:49 am »

I think it may have backed up the settings

In C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\J River\Media Center 32\Temp\User Settings

There are items in the txt file that are found in "options"

I think I will take some screen shots/photos of my settings to be sure

What's the old saying "A picture speaks a thousand text files" or something like that...
Logged
Windows 11 - i7 8750H
NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ RTX 2070
1st M.2 SSD Drive   128GB ADATA SU800 M.2 2280 (560 MB/R, 300 MB/W)
1st Storage Drive   120GB ADATA SU650 2.5" SSD, SATA 6 Gb (520MB/R, 320MB/W)
Yamaha RX-V4A AV Receiver
JRiver 20 / 21 / 22  /23 / 24 / 25 /26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32
Pages: [1]   Go Up