INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A novice's guide to installing MC and mounting an external drive (NAS) on Linux  (Read 461 times)

fegelmej

• Junior Woodchuck

I recently upgraded from a Pi3 B to Pi5.  Unlike the Pi3 there is no IdPi system yet available to streamline the setup.  I was a complete novice to Linux before starting this process, and while still a novice, I've learned a few things needed to make MC work on Linux with an external drive.  Thanks to this forum members @BryanC, @Awesome Donkey @Nybex and @HaWi for their suggestions and being patient with me as I muddled my way through.

I used the Raspberry Pi OS 64 bit - a Debian based system.  I understand that these basic controls will work on Ubuntu based OS, but I haven't tried it yet.

You'll need to get comfortable with the "Terminal" app on the OS.  This is a command prompt interface, like DOS.  It's worth spending a few minutes with a Linux primer like: https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/linux-tutorial/.

Once you're comfortable with the Command prompts then run
Code: [Select]
sudo app install curlThis installs the necessary framework to install MC 32 proper. To install MC, run BryanC's installer
curl https://git.bryanroessler.com/bryan/installJRMC/raw/master/installJRMC|bash
This should bring up MC 32.  If you have files stored on the Pi OS, they will automatically import, but if you have an external drive you will need to mount it to the Pi Os so that MC can find it.  There are a lot of tutorials and advice out there to manage this.  I found much of them to be too complicated and lacking context to get where I wanted to go.  Here's what worked for me.

First create a target folder in the OS file tree (the /mnt or /media folders are intended for this) with