INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CANNOT RIP  (Read 2632 times)

jaguar.x

  • Regular Member
  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • no matter what you do...
CANNOT RIP
« on: February 12, 2005, 10:06:29 am »

Since version 11.0.16x version, I do not remember which was the version I could rip a CD , now MC simply cannot do it.

Everything seems to be installed in the right way but the ripping feature does not work.

I place a CD, MC reads it, retrieves the information (if exists) from the on-line CDDB, I am able to edit all the information of the tracks, press the RIP button, the action windows show a message of how many tracks I am going to RIP, there is the "Show list" option, the encoding options (I choose MP3 at 320Kbps CBR, I also tried with different options of MP3 encoder), then press the start to rip button, MC Initializes the drive then it stalls and I have to go to a friend of mine called Task Manager to kill MC.

Could anyone tell me what is going on, maybe I could check if something is not well installed, registered nor configured.

It is a long road to rip a CD from Windows Media Player then import to MC and re-tag music files.

Regards

Douglas
Logged
______
...for every begin there is another end to keep on beginning...

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71774
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2005, 11:03:05 am »

Can you rip to another format like APE?  Just to test?
Logged

Alex B

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10121
  • The Cosmic Bird
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2005, 11:42:53 am »

Unsuccessful ripping to ape or wave format could exclude a possible problem with the MP3 encoder. Can you convert files from other formats to MP3?

You could post your System Info from MC Help menu. You could also list your settings in "Options > Devices > CD Ripping > Advanced Ripping Options...".

Since nobody else has reported that I guess it's not only about the changes in a certain MC build.

Something else must have been changed on your PC too. For example: new hardware, OS updates, new software, something broke Windows registry, ...

It is difficult to help unless you find something to grab on to.
Logged
The Cosmic Bird - a triple merger of galaxies: http://eso.org/public/news/eso0755

jaguar.x

  • Regular Member
  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • no matter what you do...
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2005, 07:16:13 am »

I have troubles with the APE encoder also, sometimes MC crashes and others becomes unresponsive, there is no problem with the OGG encoder nor WMA.

Something is not well installed, here is the info

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Center Registered 11.0.188 -- C:\Program Files\J River\Media Center 11\

Microsoft Windows XP 5.1 Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Intel Pentium 4 1187 MHz MMX / Memory: Total - 261 MB, Free - 81 MB

Internet Explorer: 6.0.2900.2180 / ComCtl32.dll: 5.82 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158) / Shlwapi.dll: 6.00.2900.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158) / Shell32.dll: 6.00.2900.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158) / wnaspi32.dll: N/A
Ripping /   Drive D: TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R2102  Mode:ModeSecure  Type:Auto  Speed:Max
  Drive Y:   Mode:Normal  Type:Auto  Speed:Max
  Drive Z:   Mode:Normal  Type:Auto  Speed:Max
  Digital playback: No /  Use YADB: No /  Get cover art: No /  Calc replay gain: Yes /  Copy volume: 32767
  Eject after ripping: Yes /  Play sound after ripping: No 

Burning /  Drive D: TOSHIBA  DVD-ROM SD-R2102   Addr: 1:0:0  Speed:8  MaxSpeed:8  BurnProof:Yes
  Test mode: No /  Eject after writing: Yes /  Direct decoding: Yes /  Write CD-Text: Yes
  Use playback settings: No /  Normalization: None
------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope you can help me

Regards

Douglas
Logged
______
...for every begin there is another end to keep on beginning...

Alex B

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10121
  • The Cosmic Bird
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2005, 07:51:37 am »

Digital playback: No

Not sure if this is the cause of your problems, but as far as I know the digital playback should be on.

It's in  MC options > Devices > Audio CD > Use digital playback.

Also, the similar setting should be enabled in  Windows Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager > DVD/CD-ROM drive > "your drive" >  Properties.

You could also untick the "Encode on-the-fly while ripping" option if it is enabled in  Advanced ripping options ... > Expert options  and see if that makes any difference.
Logged
The Cosmic Bird - a triple merger of galaxies: http://eso.org/public/news/eso0755

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71774
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2005, 09:00:41 am »

Have you installed any other software that uses the CD drive?  Burning software? 

If so, try uninstalling and rebooting.
Logged

jaguar.x

  • Regular Member
  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • no matter what you do...
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2005, 09:01:52 am »

I have not installed any new software that uses the CDRW device.

I am downloading the MC 11.0.193 and try the settings suggested to see what happens.

I this does not work would you recomend uninstall MC and reinstall it?
Logged
______
...for every begin there is another end to keep on beginning...

jaguar.x

  • Regular Member
  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • no matter what you do...
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2005, 09:34:38 am »

None of the settings worked, I am not able to RIP a CD using MP3 encoder nor the APE encoder
Logged
______
...for every begin there is another end to keep on beginning...

jaguar.x

  • Regular Member
  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • no matter what you do...
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2005, 11:30:14 am »

Anyone is able to help?
Logged
______
...for every begin there is another end to keep on beginning...

GHammer

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1930
  • Stereotypes are a real timesaver!
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2005, 12:37:47 pm »

None of the settings worked, I am not able to RIP a CD using MP3 encoder nor the APE encoder

Can you play the CD?

And can you rip the CD with any other tool?
Logged

jaguar.x

  • Regular Member
  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • no matter what you do...
Re: CANNOT RIP
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2005, 07:35:05 am »

Yes I can play the CD using MC and yes I used WMP to rip the CD the imported to MC library, but I am getting tyred of doing that....
Logged
______
...for every begin there is another end to keep on beginning...
Pages: [1]   Go Up