INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Converting WMA files so they are recreated with DFX  (Read 1300 times)

apnakon

• Recent member
Converting WMA files so they are recreated with DFX
« on: July 15, 2006, 06:59:12 am »

Hi All,

I am trying to take my current WMA files and convert them to new WMA files but with the added effects of DFX.

I have tried a few things (including the Convert function) but have had no luck.  I am new to Media Center so perhaps that's half my problem!   :)

I would greatly appreciate any help, since the DFX modified music sounds terrific and I'd like to then take those files and
put them on my Creative Zen Touch.

Many Thanks,

Adrian.

jgreen

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Converting WMA files so they are recreated with DFX
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2006, 01:17:11 pm »

Adrian--

#1.  Welcome to MC.  As I think you're discovering, it's an extremely powerful platform for cataloging/browsing/playing your media. 

#2.  I've only done a brief trial of the DFX plugin, but i believe that DFX does it's EQ effects internally, passing the altered signal along.  If true (and somebody who knows for sure should drop in and correct me), then MC (or any other external program) has no way to figure out what EQ changes were made by DFX.  So you would not be able to encode new WMA's that had those changes, so that the Zen could read them. 

#3.  Unless somebody can correct me, then I think the thing to do is try to contact DFX, and see if there is some method for passing the change information to an external program.

apnakon

• Recent member
Re: Converting WMA files so they are recreated with DFX
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2006, 06:50:02 am »

Thanks for the reply!  :)

Yes - I am very impressed with Media Center.  Avery good piece of software indeed!

I have written to DFX requesting some help on this.  Otherwise, I found this on their website :