INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: So what's your Airfoil experience been like?  (Read 8317 times)

Shiraz

• Recent member
So what's your Airfoil experience been like?
« on: January 11, 2008, 03:26:49 pm »

I've been using Airfoil with MC12 for about six months now.

1. The 5-second delay I can handle.... but...

2. sometimes I get a lot of drops, to the point of being unlistenable.

3. my local computer and the Airfoil stream are *always* out by about 200ms, enough to sound bad -- even when re-syncing (and using the latest version of Airfoil). It does get out of sync worse than that, but when I resync, it goes back to what Airfoil thinks is right, and that's the stream being about 200ms behind the local computer.

I know that #1 is common. But I'm wondering if others are experiencing #2 and #3. #2 in particular is a near deal-breaker.

Thanks,

Shiraz

ps. has anyone tried both Airfoil/Airport Express and the Linksys WMB54G? Which would you recommend?

datdude

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: So what's your Airfoil experience been like?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2008, 12:39:46 am »

#1 is not common for me, it is about a 3 second delay max.
"You are not a beautiful or unique snowflake." -  Just a very big snowball

JONCAT

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2008, 08:52:40 am »

I had lots of drops before some of the newer updates. I haven't tested it in a bit but I'll hook hook all my zones and test today.

Prior to ditching my wife's old Dell, Airfoil didn't perform real well with light mutli-tasking, with her new laptop performance is much inproved.

DC

Rob L

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 10:56:52 am »

So does airfoil actually install as a virtual sound card that you can then assign as a zone in MC?