INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Nested Values in KEYWORD tag?  (Read 1041 times)

lydia42

Nested Values in KEYWORD tag?
« on: April 09, 2008, 03:16:04 pm »

J River Systems --

I am relatively new to your software, so I have hope that my issue has been solved by those with more experience.

The basic scenario is this:  I have 3 songs of the same combination of artist and title.  One instance is part of an album, the other two are part of a "list" - such as Billboard or Rolling Stone Top 500.

I would like to tag the album track with the list details, and delete the other 2 copies of the song.  I have already used KEYWORD to create List groupings - and this works well.  My problem is that I  do not see how to easily retain ranking within the List (Billboard 1985 song #17, or RS Top 500 song #142, etc.)

Can you suggest an approach / technique that complies with the following:

• List membership is denoted by a KEYWORD.  All members of a given list share a common KEYWORD.

• Ranking within the list is stored in a field within the song file (not an external file), in a manner that is easily queried, and is  using MC12 data editing tools -- not manually entered for each of a gazillion songs.

I have thought there may be a way to put nested values into KEYWROD, but it's not obvious to me - and I realize there may be a better approach.

Thank you.

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Nested Values in KEYWORD tag?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2008, 07:52:49 pm »

Keywords are fully nestable.  Add "Keywords" as a pane in a library view.

Then drag-n-drop or tick checkboxes next to values in the panes to do tagging.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

lydia42

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2008, 12:26:30 am »