Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Genres  (Read 2876 times)

Hookem

Genres
« on: July 29, 2002, 04:31:30 pm »

I'm not good at determining Genres.  Is there a website that you can look up artists to see what Genre there music is.  Right now I have music from Buddy Holly to Bush all under Rock, and I want to split it up, but I'm not familiar with all of the Genres.

Thanks,
Brandon

Charlemagne 8

• Citizen of the Universe
RE:Genres
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2002, 04:39:44 pm »

Hookem,

MJ has a long list of genres and you can even make your own up but it's not something that is quantifiable. Any list you encounter will only be that author's opinion. If you could define what goes into a genre, it could be made automatic (perhaps in "Analyze Replay Gain") based on the time signature, the instruments used and the lyrical content (or lack of). Some would refuse to be defined.
Listen to it, decide for yourself. Some are easy. Do those first.
CVIII
That's right.
I'm cool.

SeanC

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2002, 05:06:29 pm »

You can use Allmusic to get a 3rd party opinion on genres.

joe|PLS|mama

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2002, 05:15:30 pm »

Creating your own Genre categories is on of the coolest features of MJ.  For example, I would use Rock: Oldies for Buddy Holly and just Rock for Bush.  I also have categories like Rock: 70s, Rock: 80s.  Also cool is that you can assign different Genres to different tracks on the same album.  Then you can use SmartLists to create playlists that combine different Genres, or whatever other criteria you want to use.

Scronch

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2002, 08:23:49 pm »

Many people find that Booty Bass is an accurate description for all music ever recorded.

Scronch

Mirko

• Galactic Citizen
  • Coffee ready?
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2002, 09:15:22 pm »

@joe|PLS|mama