INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC13.exe Hangs When Run from Service in Vista  (Read 2745 times)

cncb

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
MC13.exe Hangs When Run from Service in Vista
« on: November 06, 2008, 10:13:25 pm »

I have a pretty obscure problem I have run into since upgrading to Vista.  I run an MC13 command from an application running as a service.  This worked fine in XP but in Vista MC13.exe just seems to hang (is shown in Task Manager until I manually kill the process).  I have tried running the service both as the "Local System" account with desktop access and as a specific user with the same results.  There just appears to be something different in Vista.  Any ideas?
-Craig    MO 4Media remote and player:  Android/TV/Auto | iOS | Windows 10/UWP

cncb

• MC Beta Team
Re: MC13.exe Hangs When Run from Service in Vista
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 04:08:45 pm »

Any ideas about this?  This is really causing problems for me.

Matt

• Administrator
  • Shoes gone again!
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 05:07:49 pm »

I don't have any ideas, but you might check the log file.  Delete it by hand, then run the program.  Check for "Launcher" in the log file.

Also, try other commands like /Close or /MonitorSwitch to see if they behave differently.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

cncb

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 06:14:48 pm »

I was not able to get logging to work when running MC from the Local System account (the service application uses the SDK so MC is launched from there).  I was able to manually edit the registry (under HKEY_USERS/.DEFAULT key) to get the appropriate library to load by default but I tried to add all the Debug keys for logging without success.