INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What brought you to the JRiver Media Center?  (Read 4451 times)

preproman

• Galactic Citizen
What brought you to the JRiver Media Center?
« on: February 02, 2011, 09:30:39 am »

Hello All,

I'm new to MC and this is my first post.  I apologize if it's in the wrong place.

I'm in the process of finding a suitable Media Center that works well with large libraries (Movies, TV Shows and Music).  I'm sure most of you have tried others before coming to MC.  So from your point of views what advantages does MC have over some of the more popular free Media Centers out there like XBMC, Plex, and Boxee?

joh

• World Citizen
Re: What brought you to the JRiver Media Center?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 10:06:46 am »

- outstanding abilities to manage meta data in large libraries
- highly customizable
- great user community
- fantastic developers

rjm

• Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 10:22:27 am »

What joh said plus:

- manages meta data for all media types (video, dvds, audio, ebooks, photos) in all known formats
- is very fast with large (300,000 file) libraries and has been getting faster with each new release

AoXoMoXoA

• I am a kangaroo . . . . no, really!
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2011, 11:02:04 am »

- outstanding abilities to manage meta data in large libraries

I had difficulty with any player I tried due to having a huge library. None could handle the entire collection without stalling or crashing.

Then I discovered MJ8, and it was the first that was up to the task. It was the first to work well enough for me to cough up the cash, and I was fortunate enough to have stepped in as MC9 was being unveiled so my license worked for both.
I was sold and have not moved away since.

A great feature set has worked to keep me using MC to today.
. . . the game is rigged

roognation