INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: simple feature request: increase "adjust link timing" range  (Read 2408 times)

Shiraz

• Recent member
simple feature request: increase "adjust link timing" range
« on: October 02, 2011, 06:50:54 pm »

Greetz,

I just started playing with synchronizing my zones by linking them -- got my wife listening to the music in the living room whilst I listen to the same tunes in my office. I'm loving it, but the timing range is just short of what I need -- setting the first zone (server) to the max (2000 ms) and the second zone (client) to the min (-2000 ms), I fall to within just one second out of sync (doh, so close!) -- the cool thing is that the timing seems *very* consistent, so I fully expect to get perfect synchronization once your code allows for a higher and lower values than +/- 2000. My suggestion would be to make it large, as in +/- 10000. Who knows what individual configurations might push this? In my case, I suspect the large gap might be due to the fact that I'm running the second zone as a client within my Ubuntu's virtualbox -- that's the only unique thing here. The network is fast -- though the server is a slow 1st gen eeepc.

peace,
shiraz

Shiraz

• Recent member
Re: simple feature request: increase "adjust link timing" range
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2011, 06:54:01 pm »

ps. if the sync works out well as expected, then I finally get to stop using Airfoil, which has been what I've been using for years for my well-synced listening experience across the house. It would be so nice to use native Media Center functionality, thus allowing me to turn zones on and off from the client without having to remote desktop into the server to enable/disable zones in the Airfoil server app.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2011, 07:12:48 pm »