INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Red October HQ Min. Hardware Requirements  (Read 11438 times)

machinehead

• Recent member
Red October HQ Min. Hardware Requirements
« on: January 16, 2012, 11:28:12 am »

I have read as many of threads on this subject as I can find.

I guess I am a very literal person.

None of the threads really start to nail down the dividing line between what will and won't
successfully run RO HQ.

I am returning the machine I just built to newegg and don't want to have to do it a second time.

Many of the video card reviews online are "older", 6 months seems to be an eternity in the video card world,
so not sure how relevant they would be.

I want to build a HTPC that will render RO HQ and do audiophile 2 channel music, no video gaming.

The music piece is easy, as it does not require much horsepower, just a very good card and DAC.

I am new to the video world, and am a bit overwhelmed with all of the decoders, filters and
video formats that I didn't know existed.

I have read some guys say you need to start with an i5 proc. min., but others run an i3 with a good video card
and run RO HQ just fine.

I would like this thread to start to ferret out the dividing line of the bare min. needed to build a machine to run RO HQ.

Which i3 or i5 proc. is min. if you plan to run a discrete video card?  Do you need Sandybridge or will some of the older ones suffice?

What is the min. nVidia card to run RO HQ without any problems? 

--

What are the same min. specs for an AMD proc. and ATI video card?

--

What chipset to look for on a motherboard that will maximize the above hardware?

--

Do you need  more than 8Gig  when running Win 7 64?

Again I have read as many relevant posts on the subject, and most get off topic on
the specifics of each video card, without coming to a conclusion of what a min. spec might be.