INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playing 192kHz and 96kHz Hi res files  (Read 23412 times)

secretgardener

• Recent member
Playing 192kHz and 96kHz Hi res files
« on: February 01, 2012, 02:05:32 pm »

I have been running Media Center for several years and recently upgraded to MC 17 with no problems. I am particularly drawn to the shared library which I run from a NAS with several computers referring to it. MC is a great system which gets better with each release  :)

My reason for posting is to ask why my few hires files are not being played at their native resolution. My initial settings back in the days of using MC14 were via ASIO4ALL. I have recently added the Musical Fidelity V-Link192 to drive my Musical Fidelity Tri Vista 21 dac and have installed the supplied ASIO drivers onto the netbook that is connected to the V-Link. The audio settings on the notebook are set to use those drivers and in MC17 the ASIO setting has been selected to use the MF ASIO drivers rather than the standard ASIO setting.

Having read other posts here I have activated the DSP studio, but have not altered any of the output frequencies. I see that when playing back both 96kHz and 192kHz files downloaded from the Linn and AIX sites, that the source frequency is showing as 48kHz/64bit only. I have left the bitdepth at the Source Bitdepth setting as I see from the note that with ASIO it will only utilise the native bitdepth.

The same 48kHz frequency output is showing on the LED on the V-Link.

1. Should I also install the supplied ASIO drivers onto the NAS in order to replay the tracks at their native resolution?

2. Or are their other settings issues within MC17 that I need to configure?

Any help would be greatly appreciated before I grow worried that the downloads from Linn and AIX are only being made at 48kHz

Paul

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe