INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Alternatives to Logitech Harmony?  (Read 15650 times)

MasterC

• Recent member
Alternatives to Logitech Harmony?
« on: February 21, 2012, 04:59:54 pm »

I've been using the Logitech Harmony line of remotes for many years now.  My 890 just bit the dust.  Rather than spend $300 on a new Logitech 900, I've been looking at using the following options.

1. Roomie
2. iRule
3. Dijit

Problem is I'm an Android guy and Roomie is iOS only and iRule is dual platform but from what I've been able to gather iRule is problem prone on the Android platform. I'm willing to invest in an Ipad (gasp!) if Roomie turns out to be the best option.  The other nice thing about Roomie and iRule is that they both utilize the Global Cache IP2IR hardware solutions which seem to at lot more universal if I ever change solutions.

Dijit looks decent as well but from doing alot of reading on AVS it's very simplistic and advanced users (like myself!) will be left short changed. It also requires the Griffin Beacon which really doesn't work with any other remote solution so I'd be stuck with it if I ever changed remote software.

I use J River to listen to music and watch movies extensively and I've got quite a few IR based devices that I need to control.  Roomie and iRule both are capable of using IP based control which offers the unique advantage of two-way communication with some devices.

Any users of J River out there using any of these solutions?  Have you been able to integrate control of J River into your control schemes???

HTPC4ME

• Citizen of the Universe
  • LIFE IS A RADIO... CRANK IT UP TO 11!
Re: Alternatives to Logitech Harmony?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, 07:08:14 pm »

+1

Z0001

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2012, 06:10:10 am »