INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Minimum PC requirements to support digital music playback  (Read 5855 times)

jaypeecee

• Recent member
Minimum PC requirements to support digital music playback
« on: December 14, 2012, 08:43:47 am »

Hi Folks,

I'm new to both MC and audiophile digital music having been a dyed-in-the-wool analog guy for many years. However, I'm really excited with recent developments in digital music. I have just successfully completed building a PC-based system and the resulting sound quality is excellent. Before I started the build, I did a good deal of research to determine how powerful the PC needed to be to reliably play stereo FLAC files up to 24-bit/96kHz. It seemed that the Intel Atom D525 was a useful yardstick. Eventually, I ended up with the more powerful Intel Atom D2700 CPU.

Now to my question (phew, I hear you say!). Knowing that the MC versions 17 and 18 have a benchmark tool, has anyone determined the minimum MC benchmark that is required for reliable audiophile music reproduction?

Thanks in advance.

JPC
My digital music system is based around the Intel D2700MUD motherboard running Win 10 Home 64 bit. Output is fed from this to an asynchronous USB Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100. Music files are stereo 24bit FLAC up to 192kHz. I use J River MC version 21.

jmone

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • I won! I won!
Re: Minimum PC requirements to support digital music playback
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 01:54:07 am »

You will be fine.  No "minimum" that I know off but plenty will talk about preventing other processing grabbing CPU cycles but I've never seen an issue with Audio on any HW level.
JRiver CEO Elect

jaypeecee

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2012, 09:39:12 am »

Hi jmone,

Many thanks for your reply.