INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Jaggies on the picture what ever I do  (Read 2224 times)

eddyshere

• Galactic Citizen
Jaggies on the picture what ever I do
« on: February 03, 2013, 03:36:33 pm »

I was just wondering. Why do I always get jaggies on moving white lines when looking at a DVD on any of my PC's / HTPC. I'm not an expert with video tech (deinterlacing custom resolutions etc...) but with the little I know I can't understand why I could not better this or how to do it. Let me explain :
All following is with red october HQ : Since the two latest MC releases on one of my HTPC's (i3225, HD4000) every DVD is jagged with any MadVr setting and any refresh rate (29 or 59) (when the camera is moving all lines are looking like stairs...). IIf I then put a discrete card in (AMD 6750 or 7750) an re-run the movie all is more or less gone (not really noticeable). The HTPC is connected directly into a Pioneer Plasma 600KRP which displays in dot by dot mode (=no suplementary transformation).
Asking myself if more power is better I just installed MC on my gaming rig for fun (690GTX on a 30'' Dell). There if I run 1920x1080 the nice thing is that I can run jinc 4 taps in both chroma and upscaling but also there no way to get jaggies out of the DVD's.
For those who know it : the absolute killer is a tv-serie called "frasier" where at the beginning the "city of Seattle" is drawn with a white line on a black background. I never got this line without jaggies....
Any ideas on what I should concentrate ??

Sandy B Ridge

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Jaggies on the picture what ever I do
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 04:16:17 pm »

I also have an occasional issue with deinterlacing with DVDs. My setup:
MC 18.0.128. Intel i5 2500k. NVIDIA GT430.
ROHQ - Mitchell Netravali (which gives render times well within refresh rate and no drop frames)