INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tag a box set as a single album  (Read 4503 times)

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Tag a box set as a single album
« on: March 18, 2013, 12:10:35 pm »

Hello everybody

I've just got JRiver for Mac and have spent the day exploring it. Naturally I have a few questions, but here's my main one. I've searched the forum archive, but can't find a definitive answer, although I feel I've come close:

Many of my CDs are multi-disc box sets. I want to be able to order each one so it is read by JRiver as a single album.

Currently, if I give each "disc" (ie, its FLAC copy) the same album name, it arranges it so all the track 1s are followed by all the track 2s, then the track 3s and so on. So a three-disc set is arranged thus: 1,1; 2,1; 3,1; 1,2; 2,2; 3,2; 1,3; 2,3; 3,3, etc

I would like to get the tracks in the right order: 1,1; 1,2; 1,3; etc, then when it gets to the end of the first "disc", pick up from 2,1; 2,2, etc.

In iTunes years ago I added a feature called Albumize that changes the track numbering, so a box set appears as one group of tracks, numbered 1-150 or whatever.

So what I'm wondering is if there is an app that will perform the same function as Albumize in iTunes, or another way of automatically renumbering the tracks or otherwise running them in the correct sequence.

Appreciate your help and if I haven't made myself clear, please let me know.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 12:12:23 pm »

Have you added the correct values to the Disc # field for each track?
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 12:34:33 pm »

Hi MrC

The tracks of the box set I'm experimenting with currently have their original values. I have each disc saved in a separate folder on my desktop. Is there a quick way of changing the track numbers or does it have to be done manually, track by track?
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 12:41:45 pm »

You can use Fill Properties from Filename to do this all in one shot (assuming the Disc # is in the path or file name somewhere consistently).  What do you filename paths look like for this album?

Worst case, you can select all tracks for one album, add the disc #, and move onto the next.  This can be done quickly by sorting by Filename, which will group based on your folders.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 12:59:42 pm »

What do you filename paths look like for this album?

The filename for one track is /Users/[my name]/Desktop/Bechet 1/01 etc.

Discs 2 and 3 are arranged in folders on my desktop called Bechet 2 and Bechet 3.

Should that work OK? If so, where do I go next?
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 01:07:31 pm »

Sure.  See attached screenshot.  You can select all the tracks and do it in one operation.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 01:22:03 pm »

Thanks. Where do I go to get Fill Properties from Filename? I've poked around but can't find the path.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2013, 01:29:46 pm »

Right click the tracks, Library Tools > Fill Properties From Filename...
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2013, 01:45:04 pm »

Hmm. I've done this as your screenshot suggested but all it's done is rename the album "/Users/[my name]/Desktop/Bechet". It's not renumbered the tracks. I must have done something wrong. Any thoughts?
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2013, 01:48:50 pm »

Is there a space between [Album] and [Disc #] in your Directories template?  It is a template, so it tries to exactly match.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2013, 01:51:17 pm »

Yes, the space is there.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2013, 01:52:05 pm »

Can you share a screen shot like the one I showed?
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2013, 02:02:25 pm »

Hopefully this has attached...
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2013, 02:09:17 pm »

Ok.  This is a bug in the Mac version.  The Fill Properties tool has not yet been updated to deal with forward slashes as the path separator from Windows' backslashes.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2013, 02:14:23 pm »

OK, thanks. Glad we got that sorted!

So in theory this should just renumber all the tracks so when we get to disc 1, track 25, instead of resuming at disc 2, track 1, it carries on as 26, 27, 28... Right?

If so I'll bear it in mind for the future.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2013, 02:16:33 pm »

No, this isn't renumbering tracks.  It is grabbing the Disc # from the path.  The track numbers are unaffected, as we've not told the tool to make that change.

Once you have the tracks in the correct disc #/track # order, if you want to renumber, you can use Library Tools > Fill Track Numbers From List Order.

It is not necessary to renumber the tracks. MC's default views use Disc # as a high-level sort order.  Track # follows that, so sorting will just work.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

crisp

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: Tag a box set as a single album
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2013, 02:37:45 pm »

OK, gotcha. I started on this experiment after importing the box set saved in a single folder on my desktop. JRiver mis-ordered the tracks as I previously described.

Putting each "disc" in its own folder, numbering the folders sequentially (Bechet 1, Bechet 2, Bechet 3) and giving each one a common album name stopped this from happening. Worked for me, but I was concerned I was doing it wrong, leading to trouble down the line.

Thanks for your help!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up