INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Importing issue  (Read 2246 times)

Tim-Ann

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Importing issue
« on: March 16, 2013, 05:24:44 am »

Hi there,

Simple problem I have changed some of the folder and disc names so as to keep some semblance of order but despite clearing the library and telling it to revert or clear the previous database the import does not bring in the albums in the correct order and misses one or two albums as well.

Anyway any ideas of what I could be doing wrong?

Apart from this great piece of software thus far works really well.

Many thanks, Tim.
Logged

jmrdc

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 10:56:05 am »

Tim-Ann,

I have the same issues with importing.  Look at the link below so we can keep importing on the same thread.

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=79065.0

Thanks!!
Logged

Tim-Ann

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 10:56:46 am »

Hi there,

Sorry but that issue is not like mine I'm not losing tracks or having misspelling more that a few albums don't get imported in and some have the names on the albums that are the old names despite changes I've made within the Folder system.

Many thanks but I had already read that thread.

Tim.
Logged

Tim-Ann

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2013, 08:42:39 am »

Hi there,

Okay I don't seem to be getting anywhere with this issue so perhaps another explanation is needed.  I have the Beatles Anthology 1,2 and 3 discs with 2 Discs in each number, they are stored in a FLAC folder and labelled as Anthology, 1, Disc 1  and Anthology, 1, Disc 2 and so on for the Anthology 2 and 3.

Now when MC imports it seems to ignore the folder labelling and does not have them in sequence it does import all the tracks but just not in the FLAC folder settings.

Now if you can make sense of this please are there any ideas, I don't seem to be able to Rename it is greyed out.

Any pointers for my OCD problem?

Thanks Tim.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71458
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2013, 09:08:26 am »

By "FLAC folder", do you mean a Cue file?

You can edit the "Disc #" tag.

You could add a custom tag "Anthology".

You can use a folder structure to create tags.  Look under Library Tools.

Fill Properties from Filename
and maybe
Move, Copy, Rename.

Logged

Tim-Ann

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2013, 04:34:37 am »

Hi there,

Sorry No I meant the way the folders are labelled in my FLAC folder.

This is what is shown on Library Tools, Rename D:FLAC0 Compressed\The Beatles Anthology 1 (Disc 2) But in MC it shows Anthology 1-(Disc 2) which is before Anthology 1 (Disc 1) but in my FLAC folder they are all in order and there is no - sign anywhere within the folder title.  So where is it getting this miss information from and can I fix it?

Out of interest this is also occurring within my Windows version of MC as well.  Is it information that is held on the Media file if so can that be cleared?

Many thanks, Tim.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2013, 05:02:43 am »

In MC, select the tracks, right-click  and select Library Tools > Fill Properties from Filename.  In the directory box, add th rule:

    [album] ([disc #])

This will pull those two fields from your folder name and fill the album and disc number properties.  MC uses properties, not file and folder names in most cases.

edit: see my next response.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Tim-Ann

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2013, 09:40:09 am »

Hi there,

Tried that all I got from The Beatles Anthology 1 (Disc 2) once changed was Anthology 1 no disc number double checked still the same result.

Thanks for your quick reply, Tim.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2013, 12:29:13 pm »

Oops, sorry.  I wrote the response on my iPad very late at night.

Here's the rule to use - I forgot to add the word Disc inside the parens.

   [album] (Disc [disc #])
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Tim-Ann

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Importing issue
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2013, 05:01:42 am »

Hi there,

Thanks ever so much for that I could never have worked that one out has done the job and now my OCD of folder structures is in place.. Only now I have to do it on all the different computers within the house but at least I now know how to do it.

Again many thanks for your wonderful help.

Tim.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up