INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tagging error  (Read 5542 times)

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Tagging error
« on: March 20, 2013, 01:48:41 pm »

Every time i try to tag a file i get a tagging error like this:

Logged

kiwi

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Don't worry, be happy...
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 02:45:30 pm »

Do you have iTunes open at the same time?
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2013, 03:47:29 pm »

No, only MC Mac is running.
This happens with every filetype i have (mp3, m4a, ape).
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42044
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2013, 04:07:27 pm »

Does MC have write access to those files?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2013, 04:14:14 pm »

Yes, read, write, execute (777) for owner, group and everyone.
Same behavior on MacMini server, MacBook and iMac (OS 10.6.8/10.7.5).

No problem with MC for Windows for the same files.
The files are on an external USB-HD on the MacMini server.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2013, 05:27:07 pm »

File permissions and share permissions (i.e. mount options and directory mount point) are both required.  Are you able to write a new file or directory on the share?
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2013, 10:17:29 pm »

Quote
Are you able to write a new file or directory on the share?

Do you mean with another program, Finder for example?

Yes, i can do this. No problem to write files with other applications.
Even with MC for Windows on a Windows machine.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2013, 12:13:16 am »

Do you mean with another program, Finder for example?

Yes, I meant with Finder or TextEdit, in the exact same directory as shown in your screenshot above where the tagging error occurred (/Volumes/Audio/Multimedia/Musik/....).
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2013, 01:26:53 am »

Correct.

No problem to make textfiles, directories etc. in the exact same place.
Even from other MACs and PCs in the local network.

With the Windows version of MC  on a PC in the network, tagging the same files works without problems.
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2013, 03:32:54 am »

Rename, Move & Copy Files ... does work however!

The File... tags are written correctly an the files are moved appropriately.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2013, 07:39:25 am »

Can you see if you can tag a copy of the exact file, but on a local disk.  This will remove the mounted volume as a candidate, so that others can also test.  If this doesn't work, then we can focus on the file itself.  If it does work, then the remote location is the issue.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2013, 08:01:44 am »

Ok, i've done the following:

- Created a new Library on the internal drive.
- Copied music files to the internal drive.
- Imported these files into the new library.
- Clicked the star rating to 4 stars.
- Clicked on the next line in the grid -> tagging error message.

It doesn't matter what file type i choose (mp3, ape, m4a).

I tested on an iMac core2duo with OS 10.7.5.
But the behavior is the same on MacMini and MacBook.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2013, 08:15:28 am »

Ok, I'm sure one of the Devs will comment shortly.  Be sure you're using the latest MC (build 18.0.151).

I note that when I change Rating, the status message remains at "Saving tag changes...", but the tags are changed.  Changing some other field such as Name or Album does not leave the status message hanging around.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2013, 08:23:32 am »

Quote
I note that when I change Rating, the status message remains at "Saving tag changes...", but the tags are changed.

The first part is true here, too. The message remains until another line in the grid is clicked.
Then however, the error message box pops up here.

If i batch tag more than one line, the error message box names all files i tried to tag.

I use version 18.0.151.
Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2013, 09:11:10 am »

Could you try tagging a local file rather than one on a network drive?  We just want to eliminate some possibilities to help debug this thing.  Thanks.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2013, 09:15:37 am »

Could you try tagging a local file rather than one on a network drive?  We just want to eliminate some possibilities to help debug this thing.  Thanks.


I did that already :):

Ok, i've done the following:

- Created a new Library on the internal drive.
- Copied music files to the internal drive.
- Imported these files into the new library.
- Clicked the star rating to 4 stars.
- Clicked on the next line in the grid -> tagging error message.

It doesn't matter what file type i choose (mp3, ape, m4a).

I tested on an iMac core2duo with OS 10.7.5.
But the behavior is the same on MacMini and MacBook.
Logged

Maeghaus

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • These are not the Druids you are looking for.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2013, 09:26:22 am »

Hello all. I'm also running OS X Lion (10.7.5) on a late 2007 Intel Core Duo iMac. The tagging error mentioned here also occurs on my system. Is there anything else I might be able to help with in troubleshooting? Thanks Fred1 for posting this thread. I hadn't thought to try tagging until now with Alpha 18.0.1.151.
Logged
Windows PC (2023)
- Media Center Playback Host (DNLA), primary library source - Windows 11 Pro - Intel 12th Gen Core i7-12700KF@3.60 GHz - G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32 GB (16x2) RAM DDR4 3200 - EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3, 10 GB VRAM - WD_BLACK 4TB SN850X SSD - Mac Mini M1 (2020) - MSI GE Series GE66 Raider Laptop

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2013, 09:28:08 am »

Common denominator: OS 10.7.5
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Maeghaus

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • These are not the Druids you are looking for.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2013, 09:35:24 am »

Interesting. We do have a newer iMac running Mountain Lion in the household, and perhaps I should run the Alpha on there to see what happens with tagging.
Logged
Windows PC (2023)
- Media Center Playback Host (DNLA), primary library source - Windows 11 Pro - Intel 12th Gen Core i7-12700KF@3.60 GHz - G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32 GB (16x2) RAM DDR4 3200 - EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3, 10 GB VRAM - WD_BLACK 4TB SN850X SSD - Mac Mini M1 (2020) - MSI GE Series GE66 Raider Laptop

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2013, 09:38:52 am »

Can you try deleting your settings files so that MC has to recreate them (and re-register the input plugins)?

They are located here (on my system):

/Users/johnt/Library/Application Support/J River/Media Center 18/Settings
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #20 on: March 21, 2013, 09:51:45 am »

Common denominator: OS 10.7.5

Not quite: One of my machines uses OS 10.6.8 (MacMini core2duo) which behaves the same.
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2013, 10:01:24 am »

Can you try deleting your settings files so that MC has to recreate them (and re-register the input plugins)?

Sorry, no success.

I deleted the Machine Settings.ini and the User Settings.ini.
Then imported the music files again.
But (after quite a while because i tagged multiple files) the error message box pops up again.
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #22 on: March 21, 2013, 10:06:42 am »

By the way, trying to select several rows by shift-clicking the artist column doesn't work.
Album or name columns let me select multiple rows.

Even selecting a single line on the artist column doesn't work.
Logged

Maeghaus

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • These are not the Druids you are looking for.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2013, 10:08:50 am »

Good point taken on the OS, Fred1. I've tested a few files on the Mountain Lion iMac, and did not get any error messages so far. Maybe the tag error is OS-based so 10.8 doesn't have this issue? Just hazarding a guess. There a number of other factors that could be affecting the behavior.

For example: The Mountain Lion files tested are on the local system drive. My Lion iMac uses a Firewire-connected external drive to access its own library. I don't have an NAS or remote setup so can't comment on that.
Logged
Windows PC (2023)
- Media Center Playback Host (DNLA), primary library source - Windows 11 Pro - Intel 12th Gen Core i7-12700KF@3.60 GHz - G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32 GB (16x2) RAM DDR4 3200 - EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3, 10 GB VRAM - WD_BLACK 4TB SN850X SSD - Mac Mini M1 (2020) - MSI GE Series GE66 Raider Laptop

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #24 on: March 21, 2013, 10:11:31 am »

It doesn't make a difference, whether the files are located on the internal drive or the USB drive in my case.
Logged

Maeghaus

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • These are not the Druids you are looking for.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2013, 10:15:16 am »

OK, I just wondered about that factor of whether the location affected the behavior. I don't have any more input but hope that the bug will get fixed. If I do figure something out on Lion I'll get back to the thread. Have a great day.  ;D
Logged
Windows PC (2023)
- Media Center Playback Host (DNLA), primary library source - Windows 11 Pro - Intel 12th Gen Core i7-12700KF@3.60 GHz - G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32 GB (16x2) RAM DDR4 3200 - EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3, 10 GB VRAM - WD_BLACK 4TB SN850X SSD - Mac Mini M1 (2020) - MSI GE Series GE66 Raider Laptop

jato1569

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2013, 11:28:38 am »

I am running OSX Version 10.8.3 on a MacBook Pro with Retina Display and I am experiencing the same problem as described by Fred1.
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71629
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2013, 11:41:25 am »

What file types?
Logged

jato1569

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #28 on: March 21, 2013, 11:59:35 am »

Apple Lossless m4a
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #29 on: March 21, 2013, 12:07:51 pm »

ape, m4a lossy, mp3.
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42044
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #30 on: March 21, 2013, 03:47:33 pm »

We found and fixed one problem that might explain some of this.  We were using a move command for temporary files that didn't work across different volumes, leading to troubles.

Feedback appreciated once a new build is out (hopefully today).
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #31 on: March 21, 2013, 04:06:56 pm »

I hope you're creating your temporary files now in the same volume as the target and then doing a rename!
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42044
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #32 on: March 21, 2013, 04:25:54 pm »

I hope you're creating your temporary files now in the same volume as the target and then doing a rename!

This has been a topic of frequent discussion, and there's not a perfect answer.

The app data folder has two advantages:
1) It's a fast drive (not a a slow NAS)
2) If a temporary file gets orphaned for any reason, it gets cleaned up automatically

I believe MP3 creates a temporary file next to the media, but some other types use the app data folder.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #33 on: March 21, 2013, 04:49:00 pm »

Seems to work now with 18.0.154!

On my MacBook (OS 10.7.5) i can now tag my files that are located on a MacMini (external USB drive) over the network.
After importing the changed files into a new library, the tags show up correctly.

It would be nice now, if the F2 key worked for easier tagging :).
Logged

Fred1

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Change this by choosing profile
Re: Tagging error
« Reply #34 on: March 21, 2013, 10:58:06 pm »

Tagging error has gone on all of my machines (MacBook, MacMini, iMac - all core2duo on OS 10.6.8 and 10.7.5).
Thanks for killing the bug!

But ... there are some annoyances left that hinder from tagging more than one value:

  • When renaming (editing) a field in one or more selected rows in the grid, the combobox never disappears from the GUI until MC is restarted.
  • After accepting a value in the edited field with ENTER/RETURN, the application goes to the background and has to be cmd-TABed to get it to the foreground again.
  • Tabbing to the next column (instead of ENTER/RETURN - to remain in edit mode) isn't possible.
  • To edit a field, the secondary mouse click (or menu) has to be used. F2 would be handy.
  • The message "Saving tag changes ..." doesn't disappear from the status line until the grid is clicked elsewhere.
  • There is no info how many records are left to write (in the status line).
  • Clicking the artist column (and not only the artist column) in the grid doesn't select the corresponding line. This doesn't happen always, however. Other columns are susceptible of selections all the time, some aren't from time to time. No real pattern recognisable for me
  • When a column is too narrow to show the complete contents of a field then a tooltip is shown in front of that cell. In this case the field can't be edited or selected. I have tooltips disabled in options.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up