INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...  (Read 4220 times)

Esprit

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« on: April 17, 2013, 10:49:28 am »

Hi to all in this Forum,
I have two answer:
1st) Where I can find "how to start with JRiver (the easy way...)" or "JRiver for dummies"?
2nd) Where I can find a complete manual/tutorial in order to able or disable the options?
Thanks
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42027
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 10:54:25 am »

Welcome.

There are some resources here:
http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Getting_Started

For question number two, could you describe what options you are hoping to disable?
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Esprit

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 11:02:59 am »

First thing, while I'm trying to understand the program: I would like to avoid that when I skip a songs I have a long fade between songs.
(I'm not able to play anything: PCM is distorted, DSD not works...).

Matt, thanks for the link but it is of no help to understand what are the correct settings on the Mac and on JRiver :-[
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42027
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2013, 11:05:29 am »

@Between tracks mode
Look in Options > Audio > Track Change


@Mytek
In Options > Audio > Output mode settings..., make sure the correct audio device is selected (your Mytek).

Also, what types of files are you trying to play?

Do you have a second device you could test (like the onboard sound), just as a data point?


Thanks.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Esprit

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2013, 11:14:41 am »

The device is/was correct: Mytek_Firewire
I'm trying to play ISO DSD, PCM 192., PCM 44.1
The Mytek works perfectly with others sw.
There must be a setting somewhere to change: JRiver? MIDIsetup? MacOSX preferences?

Add:
I've inserted on the path, in order to use as second device, an USB->S/PDIF interface.
PCM 44.1 & 192 play  (I don't like the sound but it is off topic in this 3ad).
About DSD, I have this warning: "Playback could not be started on the output Core Audio using the format 352.8kHz 64Bit 2ch"
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42027
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2013, 01:01:10 pm »

About DSD, I have this warning: "Playback could not be started on the output Core Audio using the format 352.8kHz 64Bit 2ch"

To play as PCM, configure DSP Studio > Output Format > Sample rate to a rate supported by your hardware (probably 192kHz).

To bitstream, enable DoP bitstreaming in Options > Audio > Bitstreaming.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Esprit

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2013, 01:23:28 pm »

I want play DSD as DSD.
I want to use FW (no USB or S/PDIF).

Add:
After enabling DoP, JR works even for PCM files via FW.
Which settings I have to disable in order to not process the signal or it's already all correct?

Now I have one week to verify if the "sound" is what I want...  ;)
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42027
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2013, 01:30:16 pm »

I want play DSD as DSD.

That's called bitstreaming.

From above:
To bitstream, enable DoP bitstreaming in Options > Audio > Bitstreaming.

More here:
http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/DSD_Format#Bitstreaming
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

Esprit

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2013, 01:54:07 pm »

Matt, I've edited my previous post while you were posting.  ;D
Have a nice evening.
Logged

Esprit

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: JRiver, Mytek & Firewire...
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2013, 04:08:35 pm »

Additional information: in the Mytek Dice Control Panel the Operational Mode must be "normal" or "safe mode level 1".
JR does not work if OM is setted to "level 2" or "level 3".
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up