INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: importing windows explorer folders into jrmc as playlists  (Read 1549 times)

DavidZ

• Junior Woodchuck
importing windows explorer folders into jrmc as playlists
« on: June 28, 2013, 09:19:26 pm »

Hi -- I am a newbie into MC and have a simple goal. I have a hard drive with about 1300 folders on it in Windows Explorer. Each folder is labeled with artist info from a CD, and contains music files in the order they originally appeared on the CD. I would like to move each folder into the JRiver library so that each folder becomes a playlist labeled the same way, and the files retain the same order in the playlist as they did in the folder. I have  tried the Import feature and clicking on a folder that way imports the files, but a playlist must be created manually, and the files must be manually placed in the playlist. Very labor intensive when there are 1300!

I am a refugee from itunes, which was thoroughly useless in this regard. There was however, a 3rd-party utility called ifolderer which did some of what I describe above. To the extent anybody can help accomplish this in JRiver, I will be eternally grateful. -- David

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: importing windows explorer folders into MC as playlists
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 09:37:53 pm »

Are you creating the playlists with the belief that you need them to play back albums in a particular order?

MC can fill in the metadata from the folder names, if you have them in a consistent order (e.g. Artist\Album).

Are the track orders present or available in the file name?

MC has a tool to create a track order from the order the files are listed in a list.  More help if this is the way you want to go.