INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio  (Read 3714 times)

Blamo

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« on: June 30, 2013, 03:17:22 pm »

Folks,

Here is my problem.  I have MC18.0.206 running on a 2007 MacPro attached to a 1GB network.  I have a Yamaha RX-A2010 as a DLNA client (wired also).  It is capable of playing 96KHz/24 bit FLAC and WAV files over the network via DLNA.  Unfortunately, all of my files are ALAC.  Most files are 44KHz/16 bits and transcoded to 24 bit PCM and play fine.  My HiRes files are 96KHz/24 bit ALAC.  When those are transcoded to 96KHz/24 bit PCM, there is a lot of stuttering. I have confirmed that 96KHz/24 bit FLAC and WAV files playback without issue.  The issue seems to be with the transcoding.  I could convert to FLAC but I have close to 1.5TB of music.  Is there something that can be done with Media Center?

Thanks,

Blaine
Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2013, 07:43:08 am »

Could you dropbox one of those ALAC files to me and we'll test it here?  Seems like it should play fine if 96KHz/24 bit FLAC and WAV play fine.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Blamo

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2013, 09:32:47 pm »

John,

Sure but they are really big.  Also, how do I do that in this forum?

Thanks for your help,

Blaine

Logged

Blamo

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2013, 10:54:53 pm »

Could you dropbox one of those ALAC files to me and we'll test it here?  Seems like it should play fine if 96KHz/24 bit FLAC and WAV play fine.
Shoot!  Dropbox is how to do it.  Sorry about that.  I'll post it Monday when I'm back in town.
Logged

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2013, 11:33:03 am »

Of course I don't have the Yamaha device you're using, but I'm testing by playing from a Mac to a Media Center DLNA renderer running on a PC and I can't repro any problems transcoding from ALAC 96/24 to PCM 96/24 using build 207.  Besides the output device, the other difference in my testing is that my computer is probably a lot faster than your 2007 model.  Could you run a benchmark in Media Center on the MacPro (Help / Benchmark) and report the number you get?   I get a JRMark of 1865 on mine.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

Blamo

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2013, 04:22:09 pm »

I can do that but not until this weekend when I am back in Pa.  Thanks for following up on this so quickly.  My system is a MacPro with a quad core Xeon processor.  Still a pretty nice setup.
Logged

Blamo

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2013, 04:49:01 pm »

Hey John,

I got back home last night and just ran the benchmark: 
Math:  1732
Image:  1437
Database:  1482
JRMark (version 18.0.206):  1550

Blaine
Logged

Blamo

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: DLNA Transcoding HiRes Audio
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2013, 08:44:50 am »

Problem solved.

Yamaha released an update to the RX-A2010 firmware that fixes some network issues.  I'm glad that my problem was one of those issues!  Thanks for your help on this.

Blaine
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up