INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TV Shows organized by Disc rather than episode?  (Read 10084 times)

cgroth

• World Citizen
TV Shows organized by Disc rather than episode?
« on: July 03, 2013, 08:54:43 am »

Hi, I am a newbie with this software, having downloaded it for the first time yesterday. Coming from Windows MCE I am hugely impressed! All my music was imported in a single go, with 99.9 % accuracy in terms of organizing, images etc. This is a massive improvement over Windows' less than 50 %. Also, the possibility of watching videos in a meaningful way is fantastic! I was never able to do this with Windows MCE.

I tried importing my videos in one go, like for my music. For my movies this worked fine (mostly), but for my TV Shows the result was rather messy. I have all my videos on a NAS, and since they are ripped copies of my own DVDs using AnyDVD, they are organized by DVDs. TV Series are typically organized in folders with the Series, then subfolders for each season, and sub-sub folders for each disc of the set. Accessing the different episodes is then done by starting the DVD and selecting from the disc menu, rather than selecting the episode from the Media Player. I cannot find if JRiver supports this? Since I have several thousand discs I cannot possibly do a manual one by one import....

I have so far only tried to import to series, Joey Season 1 and Private Practice Seasons 4 and 5. For Joey I manually named each file as Disc X and manually pasted the art I wanted. However, when I tried to automatically import Private Practice it sets up the seasons correctly, but does not give me the disc numbers (the folders the discs are stored in are Called Disc 1, Disc 2 etc). Instead I get a list of file names all being Video_TS, without art and not even in order, so the first one is disc 5, the second disc 3 etc.