INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: So I'm somewhat new to the endeavor of home theatre setup...  (Read 6229 times)

Goatshade

• Citizen of the Universe

...and I have certain ambitions for my living area (read: it's the common area of a particularly well-off military barracks room :P).

Basically, I'm trying to assemble a 7.1 surround speaker system (with the possibility of becoming a 7.2 later, if it would really mean anything), to be used, of course, in conjunction with an AVR and a hypothetical HDTV. The primary purpose will be for watching movies, but I sure wouldn't mind pushing it with some loud, bass-heavy sludge metal now and then (among other things).

Recently, I've been looking a lot into speaker, subwoofer, and AVR wattage and impedance ratings, and I feel like I'm starting to understand what it all means, but admittedly, I am still an audiophile-in-training, at best. What I'm looking for, I suppose, is suggestions on an appropriate AVR, to which I can connect the following without destroying something:

• Two Pioneer CS-M555's, as FL/FR. My roommate is ETS'ing, and leaving these behind. I suppose, by now, they'd be considered vintage, having been released sometime around 1992-1993 (literally almost as old as I am :P). Despite their age, they're in good working order, and quite powerful. (150W maximum, 8 Ω)
  • One Polk Audio Monitor 25C, as C. ("Rec. amp. power range": 25-175W, 8 Ω)
  • Four Polk Audio Monitor 45B's, as SL/SR/RL/RR. ("Rec. amp. power range": 20-125W, 8 Ω)
  • One Polk Audio PSW125, as SW. ("Cont./Dyn. power": 150/300W)