INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: trouble with initial import, albums and artists missing  (Read 3138 times)

danfl75

• Junior Woodchuck
trouble with initial import, albums and artists missing
« on: August 06, 2013, 10:59:20 pm »

Hi Noob here. This is my first real foray into digital music. MC 18.0.211 installed fine on my mac mini 2012 OX10.8.4, and it sounds good. I can't import my albums correctly from ITunes despite multiple attempts with different paths. The problem is that I can only see and play my itunes music files from the file entry on the tree. HDTracks music files also show up there. When I click on album or artist in the tree, I only see the few HDtracks sampler albums or artists. When in the /Users/dan/Music/ directory, I see directories for HDTracks and iTunes.

I tried many variations of this path to no avail:
/Users/dan/Music/ITunes/ITunes Media/Music

For example, I'm pretty sure I tried these:
/Users/dan/Music/
/Users/dan/Music/ITunes/

What am I missing?

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: trouble with initial import, albums and artists missing
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 11:01:12 am »

Can you see your music in Finder under those paths?

What happens if you do Tools > Import in MC and point to that path?
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

danfl75

• Junior Woodchuck
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 07:35:44 pm »

Matt, yes, I can see files from those paths in Finder. If I try to play them from finder, it's still associated with itunes but I haven't tried to change that yet. When I try to import a single file from either path:

/Users/dan/Music - or
/Users/dan/Music/ITunes/ITunes Media/Music - I get this summary:

Library now has 956 files. Search and update took 0:00.

Imported 0 new files.