INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?  (Read 10212 times)

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« on: October 11, 2013, 12:21:09 am »

I was able to get to a buddies house tonight and he's using MC19 (Windows)...I want to know if/when this will available for Mac.   

I don't know how or why but  ;D
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2013, 10:24:04 am »

Hello! MC19 for Mac supports playback of PCM files in DSD64 format. I was using that last night in fact for some 16/44.1 and 24/292 files.

I am not sure however if there is a manner to have it playback those same files in DSD128. Does anyone know?

Barr
Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2013, 10:37:52 am »

Oh and one other thing, as your DAC will only support DSD64, everything thing you desire is already available and thus awaits your return home (other than that little issue with SL, which hopefully is now fixed)

Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2013, 12:00:05 pm »

Sheesh.  Another memo I must have missed.   :(

How do we do this?  Is there a sonic advantage of upsampling to DSD64 or DSD128?  Does 128 really sound better?  Is there proof that it can and does? 

I heard it last night at a buddies house at RMAF and thought it did but what do the software guys say?
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2013, 02:14:35 pm »

I can answer how to configure it in MC19 for Mac which is as follows:

Tools->Options->Audio->DSP & output format-> Output encoding

This link has more information and screenshots:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=82074.0

As to the why, some believe that sending the output as DSD is beneficial to DACs composed of chips that optimally sound best with DSD as opposed to PCM. An example of this would be DACs using the ESS Sabre chip. Again this is a belief many have, others enjoy the sound of DSD in their system better than PCM.

I have not A/B's enough to come to any conclusions on my DAC which is a R2R DAC.

I also don't think DSD128 is enabled for the Mac yet, though I am happy to be wrong.

And here is a Mac MC19 screenshot:

Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2013, 06:55:29 am »

I also don't think DSD128 is enabled for the Mac yet, though I am happy to be wrong.
Can anyone confirm this?  Also, what speed Mac is best for this? 
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2013, 08:07:48 am »

On Mac, you can do DSD64.  Currently DSD128 is only available using the ASIO driver on the Windows version of Media Center.
As far as computer speed, you'll want something reasonably fast but we don't have enough test results to provide hard numbers.  Try it and see how it performs.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2013, 09:06:49 am »

Currently DSD128 is only available using the ASIO driver on the Windows version of Media Center.
Since I have a DSD128 capable dac coming is there any plan to add it to Mac?    ;)

Quote
As far as computer speed, you'll want something reasonably fast but we don't have enough test results to provide hard numbers.  Try it and see how it performs.
Oh trust me, I'll will.   ;D
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2013, 09:47:15 am »

Since I have a DSD128 capable dac coming is there any plan to add it to Mac?    ;)
Yes, for example we will most likely support 4 channels of DoP format DSD at 176kHz to do DSD128 (instead of 2 channels at 352kHz).
Matt may chime in with more information when he returns to the office on Thursday.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2013, 12:25:03 pm »

Yes, for example we will most likely support 4 channels of DoP format DSD at 176kHz to do DSD128 (instead of 2 channels at 352kHz).
Matt may chime in with more information when he returns to the office on Thursday.
Hmmm.  Don't make switch to a PC!

Ohhhhh Matt!?!?!
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2013, 08:18:20 pm »

Aye, aye this would be wonderful! Would this potentially mean both playback of DSD128 files ( of which I have none ) and also PCM->DSD conversion to DSD128?

Barr
Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2013, 06:45:19 pm »

Is this correct?  It seems too simple....all you do is set that one drop down box and that's it? 
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2013, 07:36:13 pm »

Yep, it's the simple son.... ;)
Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2013, 07:06:14 am »

Yep, it's the simple son.... ;)

So does that mean it automatically will then up-sample to the maximum that the dac will allow?  Why does it not show what it's being up-sampled to on the main window?
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2013, 12:23:33 pm »

Well, it will up sample all PCM content to DSD64 as you are using the Mac version.

I am at work, and don't have access to my MC19 version here to better illustrate right now, however if you see the attached file (which is actually MC18), you click the icon on the far right and it will tell you about your playback input and output.

Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2013, 12:39:52 pm »

Well, it will up sample all PCM content to DSD64 as you are using the Mac version.

I am at work, and don't have access to my MC19 version here to better illustrate right now, however if you see the attached file (which is actually MC18), you click the icon on the far right and it will tell you about your playback input and output.


Ah OK.  I'll check that out when my system is back up and running.  As of now, I'm dac-less. 
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2013, 08:16:05 pm »

Attached is the better screenshot I promised you. This is with Output encoding set to DSD in DoP format under DSP and Output Format. So PCM being converted to DSD64.
Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2013, 08:31:23 pm »

Thanks!

I'll check when my new dac arrives.
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2013, 06:58:50 pm »

Yes, for example we will most likely support 4 channels of DoP format DSD at 176kHz to do DSD128 (instead of 2 channels at 352kHz).
Matt may chime in with more information when he returns to the office on Thursday.
Matt?
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2013, 08:33:55 am »

Should I take the no response as a good thing? 
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #20 on: October 22, 2013, 08:34:56 am »

We don't have a target date on that, sorry.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #21 on: October 22, 2013, 08:36:02 am »

We don't have a target date on that, sorry.
Do you think it will happen?  I ask b/c I need to decide if I'm going to go Windows or stick with Mac.   :o
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

JohnT

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4627
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #22 on: October 22, 2013, 09:10:57 am »

Do you think it will happen?  I ask b/c I need to decide if I'm going to go Windows or stick with Mac.   :o
Pretty sure it will happen in a relatively short time-frame.  The main challenge is ensuring the user interface doesn't get too complex and confusing by adding this.
Logged
John Thompson, JRiver Media Center

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2013, 09:52:51 am »

Pretty sure it will happen in a relatively short time-frame.  The main challenge is ensuring the user interface doesn't get too complex and confusing by adding this.
OK.  This is good news.  I'm here waiting to Beta Test it.   ;)
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2013, 12:11:10 am »

Me too - cause I cannot get this to work on MC 19 under Windows either. I get a playback error.
Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

bplexico

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2013, 04:39:55 pm »

I am happy to confirm that on the latest release of JRiver (.60) this new feature works!!!! I am able to convert 16/44.1 PCM files to DSD128 for playback.

Thank you John and Matt.

Barr
Logged
Mac Mini (16Gb memory, 2.3GHz i7, SSD), Synology NAS, MSB Analog DAC, Tubes, Cables, DeVore O/96s

jtwrace

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
  • "Science is not a democracy"-Earl Geddes, Ph.D.
Re: Upsampling to DSD64/DSD128 with Mac?
« Reply #26 on: October 24, 2013, 06:01:23 pm »

Matt and Crew

Heck yeah!  I'm backing up my drive (bootable backup) as I type this then I'll go to 10.9 OS X.  
Logged
W10 NUC i7 (Gen 10) > (Audiolense FIR) > Motu UltraLite mk5 > (4) Hypex NCore NC502MP > JBL M2 Master Reference +4 subs

My podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXMw_bZWBMtRWNJQfTJ38kA/videos
Pages: [1]   Go Up