INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Complete novice help please  (Read 1434 times)

Nat64

Complete novice help please
« on: October 21, 2013, 06:59:02 am »

Hi,

I am not sure where exactly to post this so I am trying on here. Appologies  in advance if this is not the right place . Please go gently with me as I am new to all this and a lot of the terminology on here may as well be chinesse ( which I cant speak/understand ).I have gone through the FAQ section, but its far more detailed/technical than I can understand although it seems to fit the requirement.
 I have a lot of music on my PC as well as on itunes. I also have a lot of CD's. I want to amalgamate all my music in 1 place ( have a stand alone hard drive ) . I have many CD's I want to " digitize " ( as in copy to my pc ) and I want to be able to stream all of this music to my HiFi . I have a cambridge Audio stream magic 6, and have managed to stream some of my music via WiFi, and the setting it uses is Upnp. ( I am a total novice it took me quite a while to get this far ). So far so good. I have also been told that a Boxee box from D-Link will aid the streaming of films to my Tv and that it is better than apple tv as its an open system.
So , is J River media centre the system for me and will all this work easily ? Will it take all my music from all the separate folders/files/itunes and place them in 1 place ? Will I need a degree in rocket science to be able to use it and will I still be able to load music to my iphone 5.? Thats what I am loking for. I now its a rather long question, but I'd rather know than make a mistake that I regret.
 Thank you all for taking the time to reply and advise a novice,

Regards,
Nat.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Complete novice help please
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2013, 07:13:12 am »