INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?  (Read 6317 times)

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« on: October 22, 2013, 08:44:16 am »

Has anyone successfully installed MC on Voyage MPD? It's just a slimmed down version of Debian Wheezy 7.1 and shouldn't be too much work. MC installs just fine but I receive seg faults when attempting to run the app.


http://linux.voyage.hk/voyage-mpd
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2013, 09:37:21 am »

You need to install xfonts-75dpi, xfonts-100dpi and libX11-6
also, check
cat /proc/cpuinfo
you need at least sse2 support.
To start you need to forward X11 over ssh.
It's off by default in the voyage sshd_config.
Turn it on (edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config)
restart
/etc/init.d/ssh restart
start a new ssh session
ssh -X voyage
and try again.
Install xterm to debug. If xterm won't run over the ssh connection, neither will MC.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2013, 10:30:48 am »

Great I'll give this a try.

Is it possible to run MC from the console or must SSH also work?
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2013, 01:21:48 pm »

Still have all kinds of issues. Seg faults.

Tried running xterm, says display not set. When I try to set a display I get an error about opening that display.

Maybe someone much smarter than me needs to tackle this one.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2013, 04:26:24 pm »

Still have all kinds of issues. Seg faults.

Tried running xterm, says display not set. When I try to set a display I get an error about opening that display.

Maybe someone much smarter than me needs to tackle this one.
If ssh is running correctly with X11 forwarding you won't get that message with xterm.
What are you using to connect to Voyage with?
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2013, 08:35:37 pm »

Just tried it from another Debian PC and it's working.

I wonder if there's a way to ssh -X to Voyage from a Mac?
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2013, 09:54:39 pm »

I just reinstalled Voyage MPD, installed the dependencies for X and the configs, now I can't ssh -X user@server without the same errors.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2013, 10:12:41 pm »

Just tried it from another Debian PC and it's working.

I wonder if there's a way to ssh -X to Voyage from a Mac?
Yes but you need XQuartz installed on the Mac.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2013, 10:13:21 pm »

I just reinstalled Voyage MPD, installed the dependencies for X and the configs, now I can't ssh -X user@server without the same errors.

Try installing xauth on Voyage.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2013, 10:16:49 pm »

Try installing xauth on Voyage.

Bingo. That worked.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2013, 10:23:14 pm »

Now for another issue. To run in a non-gui mode the user first must run the guy to select the audio output etc... When I run the gui via ssh -X the only option I have for audio device is (default) even though alsamixer sees my hardware on the local pc.

This prevents me from using Voyage MPD as it doesn't have a guy and I don't want to install a guy just to run MC once for setup. Any thoughts on this?
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2013, 10:57:14 pm »

Now for another issue. To run in a non-gui mode the user first must run the guy to select the audio output etc... When I run the gui via ssh -X the only option I have for audio device is (default) even though alsamixer sees my hardware on the local pc.

This prevents me from using Voyage MPD as it doesn't have a guy and I don't want to install a guy just to run MC once for setup. Any thoughts on this?
Not sure I get this.
When you run MC on Voyage via forwarded X11 over SSH you are seeing the devices ON Voyage. You should have all of the audio devices on the Voyage machine available in the drop down.
I turned off MPD on Voyage when I did this, maybe it's interfering? MPD is pretty pointless if MC is on Voyage.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2013, 11:00:28 pm »

Not sure I get this.
When you run MC on Voyage via forwarded X11 over SSH you are seeing the devices ON Voyage. You should have all of the audio devices on the Voyage machine available in the drop down.
I turned off MPD on Voyage when I did this, maybe it's interfering? MPD is pretty pointless if MC is on Voyage.
Running MC on voyage via forwarded X11 over SSH, but I'm not seeing the devices visible to Voyage. The drop down only shows (default).

If I ssh into Voyage and run alsamixer command I can see all the devices so I know Voyage can see them.

I agree MPD is useless if MC is on the PC. I'll try to stop it from running. I love the distro regardless of MPD.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2013, 11:04:48 pm »

Just tried stopping MPD but no luck. Here is a screenshot of what I see when running ssh from another Debian pc into the voyage pc.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2013, 10:15:51 am »

Running MC on voyage via forwarded X11 over SSH, but I'm not seeing the devices visible to Voyage. The drop down only shows (default).

If I ssh into Voyage and run alsamixer command I can see all the devices so I know Voyage can see them.

I agree MPD is useless if MC is on the PC. I'll try to stop it from running. I love the distro regardless of MPD.
Not sure what's going on here.
Is the alsa-utils package installed on Voyage?
Are you running as a non-root user?
Voyage is really just stock debian with their add-ons so I'd think it'd just work.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2013, 01:51:21 pm »

Not sure what's going on here.
Is the alsa-utils package installed on Voyage?
Are you running as a non-root user?
Voyage is really just stock debian with their add-ons so I'd think it'd just work.


Yes alas-utils is installed.
I'm running as a non-root user.

Here is the output of aplay -l and aplay -L when I run them on the local linux pc logged in as root.



root@voyage:~# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: A20 [AURALiC USB Audio 2.0], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
root@voyage:~# aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=A20
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=A20
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=A20,DEV=0
    AURALiC USB Audio 2.0, USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=1
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 1
    HDMI Audio Output
root@voyage:~#
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2013, 01:52:51 pm »

When I log in as my non-root user I can't run aplay commands. This must be the issue. Does my non-root user need to be in the audio group or something?
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2013, 02:00:19 pm »

I suppose I should try some stuff before asking. I added my non-root user to the audio group and it works great now.

Thanks for the help Bob!
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2013, 02:13:48 pm »

I suppose I should try some stuff before asking. I added my non-root user to the audio group and it works great now.

Thanks for the help Bob!
Yes you got it.
Permissions.
Good find.
Logged

Stream

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Voyage MPD (Debian Wheezy 7.1) Install?
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2013, 02:17:53 pm »

Excellent. I now have Voyage running a configured MC and working great!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up