INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback  (Read 5886 times)

mcollier

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« on: November 05, 2013, 09:52:40 am »

Hello All, I finally got around to setting up a system to test/use the new linux version.

I've got a fresh install of Wheezy 64 bit on a Dell Latitude D430.  Mediacenter v 19.0.65

I've got the GUI working.

The main problem I have is that I'm not able to play audio.  I've succesfully added media to my library, both FLAC and MP3 files.  Whenever I try to play either type of file I get a message box titled: Playback Problem containing the message: Something went wrong with playback [OK]

When I visit the tools/options/audio configuration, I see under "Audio Device" an unchecked checkbox beside the word "Device" and that's it.

My audio is working fine with Rythmbox and I can also successfully do:
aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Noise.wav

which I believe indicates that ALSA is working properly.

cat /proc/asound/cards

gives me:

0 [Intel]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xefebc000 irq 43

What else should I try?


EDIT: added MC version 19.0.65 and Wheezy 64 bit
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2013, 11:25:00 am »

MC can't access your audio devices.
You probably need to add your user to the audio group.
The way to do this differs between different desktops so I can't tell you exactly how from the desktop but you can do it from a terminal window like this:
sudo /usr/sbin/usermod -a -G audio yourusername

You'll then have to logout of your GUI then back in again. Try MC and see if you can see the devices now.
Logged

mcollier

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2013, 11:28:50 am »

Thanks Bob, just double checked, and my user is already part of the "audio" group.  I will add that the aplay test that I mentioned before works for root as well as my user account.

Other ideas?
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2013, 11:30:29 am »

Thanks Bob, just double checked, and my user is already part of the "audio" group.  I will add that the aplay test that I mentioned before works for root as well as my user account.

Other ideas?
32 or 64 bit?
Logged

mcollier

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2013, 11:32:03 am »

64 bit
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2013, 11:33:56 am »

From a prompt try
ldd -d /usr/lib/jriver/Media\ Center\ 19/Plugins/libout_Main.so

I bet you're missing libasound2
Logged

mcollier

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2013, 11:49:04 am »

From a prompt try
ldd -d /usr/lib/jriver/Media\ Center\ 19/Plugins/libout_Main.so

I bet you're missing libasound2


You were correct, libasound.so.2 showed not found.
I did:
apt-get install libasound2:i386
[successfully installed]
now the ldd command shows no missing libraries.
I rebooted.
All the same symptoms still exist.  Only the word "device" shows under audio devices, and I get the same message when I attempt playback.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2013, 11:57:32 am »

Interesting.
I had the same problem with Ubuntu 13.10 64 bit.
I'm trying to remember what else I did after installing libasound2.
Maybe try clicking and unclicking that device box, save and go back into the options and see if it changes?
Otherwise, try removing the users settings (the ~/.jriver folder) but then you'll have to re-import your files.
Logged

mcollier

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2013, 12:16:22 pm »

Alright!

Fiddling with the "device" checkbox and saving did nothing, however removing the ~/.jriver folder did the trick.

Now, under devices, I show "ALSA", then when I click device settings, I have options for:
pulse
default:CARD=Intel
sysdefault:CARD=Intel
front:CARD=Intel, DEV=0
followed by 5 different "surround##" options.

I found that the only options that works is "front:CARD=Intel, DEV=0"

I have now found that if I go to "device settings" while playback is in progress, MediaCenter shuts down completely (disappears from the screen with no error).  If I stop playback first, I can get into device settings without difficulty.

So, I've got sound!  Thanks for your help!
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2013, 12:39:02 pm »

Great, good to hear you got it!

The pulse option would probably work but everything in the system has to use the same sample rate to do that, usually 48k. You could try that in DSP studio if your are interested.
Logged

mcollier

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2013, 01:30:39 pm »

On your suggestion, I tried the pulse option.  I ran the following commands to try to determine what my current settings are:

pacmd list-sinks
result: s16le 2ch 44100Hz

less /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params
result:
access: MMAP_INTERLEAVED
format: S32_LE
subformat: STD
channels: 2
rate: 44100 (44100/1)
period_size: 735
buffer_size: 2205

I concluded from this that I should have no problems playing 44.1 kHz

However, when I attempt to play, I get a Playback Problem message:
Playback could not be started on the output 'ALSA' using the format '44.1 kHz 16 bit 2 ch'

I notice that when I am playing properly using the "Front" ALSA device, the DSP Studio tells me I'm playing at 44.1 kHz 32 bit 2 ch.  If the discrepancy is the bit depth, I'm not sure how I use the DSP studio to set that output option.
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Playback Problem / Something went wrong with playback
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2013, 02:38:03 pm »

Hmmm, so we try to open the output device first as S32LE, then S24LE, finally S16LE.
I'd think the S16LE would work since we shouldn't be able to open pulse with S32LE or S24LE.
Perhaps pulse is allowing the open at S32LE (incorrectly I'd think) then failing to play.
Need to check the logic, thanks for the FB.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up