INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How To Display Theater View with DLNA  (Read 6953 times)

Schooner

• Recent member
How To Display Theater View with DLNA
« on: November 19, 2013, 08:47:41 pm »

I recently downloaded the trial version of JRiver and am still evaluating it.  so, I'm a noob.  But I got things set-up pretty quickly and am enjoying it for the most part.  My main use for it is to stream music from my computer to my stereo via a home network.  Is there a way for me to view the music library in theater view on my TV?  Based on the marketing materials, I had visions of sitting on my couch and scrolling through albums displayed on the big screen.  Instead, I just have a basic list of albums or artists, or, as alternative, just use my iPhone. 

Here is my set-up:  I have JRiver running on a PC (Windows 7).  At this point, my library is stored on my PC, though I plan to switch it over to a NAS soon.  My receiver is an Onkyo TX-NR616 and my TV is a Panasonic ST50.  The PC, receiver and TV all are connected to my home network via Ethernet, and the TV and receiver are connected to each other via HDMI.  My router, receiver and TV all are DLNA compliant.

To stream music from my PC to stereo, I can push from the computer; however, that is not ideal because my PC is far away from the stereo (on another floor, actually).  So, instead I can use the receiver to pull the music using the DLNA menu.  When I do that, a list of artists or albums is displayed on my TV, but it’s a really basic interface and certainly nothing like Theater View.