INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Teac UD-501 USB DAC  (Read 9803 times)

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« on: November 24, 2013, 09:18:43 am »

So I figured I'd install Debian on the HTPC to prepare for what's coming. It's now dual boot.

I was surprised to see that it detected the Teac DAC. According to this dude its supposed to work out of the box, but I couldn't get sound from MC *at all*. Nothing seemed to work (not even HDMI or the Asus Xonar).

Ah well, Christmas is coming up with plenty of free time to fool around.
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 11:25:06 am »

Got it to work on my workstation.

Couple of observations:
- Bitstreaming DSD is not working, track is simply skipped after a second of silence. It does say buffering briefly. Display on the Teac remains unchanged.
- DoP or DSD output (output format in DSP Studio) plays static. DoP changes the display to PCM 176.4 and 2xDSD native changes to 352.8.
- Playing different sample rates eventually (2 or 3 track changes) will play static, cracking and too fast. The display on my DAC does show the correct sample rate though.

Tested all sampling rates with DSP studio and this all seems to work fine.
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2013, 11:17:28 am »

I could use some help.

When I hook the DAC up to my workstation, it works straight off the bat.

I connect the DAC back to the HTPC and MC refuses to play anything to it.

The device is detected, alsamixer sees it, permisisons on dev/snd is good, I've rebooted :s.

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks.

Logged

Mike Noe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2013, 02:30:17 pm »

PulseAudio acting screwy??  
Logged
openSUSE TW/Plasma5 x86_64 | Win10Pro/RX560
S.M.S.L USB-DAC => Transcendent GG Pre (kit) => Transcendent mono OTLs (kit)
(heavily modded) Hammer Dynamics Super-12s (kit)
(optionally) VonSchweikert VR8s

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2013, 12:37:25 am »

How would I check if that is the case?

I noticed another program is able to play, even though it wasn't playing correctly (it had dropouts).

Logged

Mike Noe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2013, 06:48:32 am »

Well, technically, PA shouldn't affect MC as it goes directly to alsa (am I right about that?).  However, a little while back I had to disable PA for my h/w for any audio playback to work (Amarok/MC/VLC/Mplayer).  Granted, I was hacking around on the kernel for multichannel HDMI support on AMD, but still, PA was whacked.  The symptom was that Phonon changes would not stick and pavucontrol was simply non-functional (would not allow for volume or device selection).  At the time, I just disabled PA on my sound hardware.

However, now, with a final openSuse release (13.1) and the new kernel (3.13), everything rocks, no pun intended.  ;)

So, just a thought, try disabling PA and see what happens.
Logged
openSUSE TW/Plasma5 x86_64 | Win10Pro/RX560
S.M.S.L USB-DAC => Transcendent GG Pre (kit) => Transcendent mono OTLs (kit)
(heavily modded) Hammer Dynamics Super-12s (kit)
(optionally) VonSchweikert VR8s

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2013, 07:00:45 am »

At second thought I don't think I have pulse installed. There's 1 library (libpulse0:amd64) and a vlc plugin installed and that's it. When I simulate removal it wants to remove vlc and the vlc plugin too so I'm guessing that library is only there to satisfy a vlc dependency.

I'm just fiddling around but I have no idea what I'm doing :(. MC should just play as it does on my other PC. I even reinstalled the HTPC.
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2013, 07:54:06 am »

Is this correct?

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: UD501 [TEAC UD-501], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: STH6 [Xonar ST+H6], device 0: Multichannel [Multichannel]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: STH6 [Xonar ST+H6], device 1: Digital [Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Both Card 1 and card 2 show as device 0, but I don't know if that's a problem?
Logged

Mike Noe

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2013, 08:00:25 am »

Have you tried speaker-test?

Code: [Select]
speaker-test -D usb:CARD=UD501,DEV=0 -c6 -r96000 -F S16_LE
Check the params and you could try your other devices too.

You can use "aplay -L" to get the params.
Logged
openSUSE TW/Plasma5 x86_64 | Win10Pro/RX560
S.M.S.L USB-DAC => Transcendent GG Pre (kit) => Transcendent mono OTLs (kit)
(heavily modded) Hammer Dynamics Super-12s (kit)
(optionally) VonSchweikert VR8s

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2013, 08:26:06 am »

Thanks for your help, appreciate it.

Code: [Select]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: UD501 [TEAC UD-501], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: STH6 [Xonar ST+H6], device 0: Multichannel [Multichannel]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: STH6 [Xonar ST+H6], device 1: Digital [Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code: [Select]
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
default:CARD=UD501
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=UD501
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
    TEAC UD-501, USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
default:CARD=STH6
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=STH6
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=STH6,DEV=0
    Xonar ST+H6, Multichannel
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output

I can't get any sound with speaker-test. I've not tried more than 2 ch. because it only supports 2 (dunno why all the others are there).
I tried:

speaker-test -Dfront:CARD=UD501,DEV=0 -c2 -r96000 -F S16_LE

with the following variations:
-with or without space after -D :)
- CARD=UD501,DEV=0
- r44100, 48000, etc
- S24_LE, S32_LE

Output:
Code: [Select]
user@host:~/.mpd$ speaker-test -Ddefault:CARD=UD501 -c2 -r96000 -F S16_LE
speaker-test 1.0.25

Playback device is default:CARD=UD501
Stream parameters are 96000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib pcm_direct.c:980:(snd1_pcm_direct_initialize_slave) unable to install hw params
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1030:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to initialize slave
Playback open error: -6,No such device or address
user@host:~/.mpd$ speaker-test -Dsysdefault:CARD=UD501 -c2 -r96000 -F S16_LE

speaker-test 1.0.25

Playback device is sysdefault:CARD=UD501
Stream parameters are 96000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib pcm_direct.c:980:(snd1_pcm_direct_initialize_slave) unable to install hw params
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1030:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to initialize slave
Playback open error: -6,No such device or address
user@host:~/.mpd$ speaker-test -Dfront:CARD=UD501,DEV=0 -c2 -r96000 -F S16_LE

speaker-test 1.0.25

Playback device is front:CARD=UD501,DEV=0
Stream parameters are 96000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Sample format not available for playback: Invalid argument
Setting of hwparams failed: Invalid argument
user@host:~/.mpd$

This, for instance does work:
Code: [Select]
user@host:~/.mpd$ speaker-test -Dhdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3 -c6 -r96000 -F S16_LE

speaker-test 1.0.25

Playback device is hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
Stream parameters are 96000Hz, S16_LE, 6 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Rate set to 96000Hz (requested 96000Hz)
Buffer size range from 64 to 5440
Period size range from 32 to 2720
Using max buffer size 5440
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 1088
was set buffer_size = 5440
 0 - Front Left
 4 - Center
 1 - Front Right
 3 - Rear Right
 2 - Rear Left
 5 - LFE
Time per period = 17.906706
etc
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2013, 08:49:12 am »

IT WORKS!                                                      Sort of...
 ;D ;D ;D

Don't ask me what's changed though, that annoys me a bit about this.

I grabbed a USB cable extender to run to my own PC, I ran the speaker-test -Dfront:CARD=UD501,DEV=0 -c2 -r96000 -F S32_LE, it worked. Looked at some files in /proc/asound/UD501 and plugged it back in the other PC.

Ran the speaker-test and it just worked.

Maybe the only thing different is I picked another USB port. I'm with my hand blindly finding ports on the back of the PC  ::)

Edit: Played another album and got the 'something went wrong' popup again. Hit play again and it worked  :-\.
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2013, 09:02:47 am »

LOL!

Jiiiim ...!

  :D
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2013, 09:16:59 am »

It sometimes skips tracks when sample rate changes. So its playing a 16/44.1 track and following that is a 24/96 album. It skips the first 2 tracks of that with the messages below. It starts playing the 3rd track. I can go back and start track 1 and it will play.

Code: [Select]
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13526
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2013, 10:52:39 pm »

It sometimes skips tracks when sample rate changes. So its playing a 16/44.1 track and following that is a 24/96 album. It skips the first 2 tracks of that with the messages below. It starts playing the 3rd track. I can go back and start track 1 and it will play.

Code: [Select]
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
JRiver install path (process: 26116): /usr/lib/jriver/Media Center 19/
CJRSharedToolsHelper::AuthenticateJRSharedLib
ALSA lib pcm.c:7489:(snd_pcm_set_params) Unable to set hw params for PLAYBACK: No such device or address
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument
ALSA lib pcm.c:7414:(snd_pcm_set_params) Sample format not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid argument

I think there is something funky going on when one can't play a file for some reason or another. It seems that then we won't be able to play a bunch of tracks in a row even if they are all the same sample rate. When it gets in that state I hit the stop button, then try a list of files that are all the same format again and it works. Haven't been able to pin that down yet. Is that what you are seeing perhaps?
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2013, 12:18:30 am »

I think there is something funky going on when one can't play a file for some reason or another. It seems that then we won't be able to play a bunch of tracks in a row even if they are all the same sample rate. When it gets in that state I hit the stop button, then try a list of files that are all the same format again and it works. Haven't been able to pin that down yet. Is that what you are seeing perhaps?

I think that sounds like what is happening, with 2 notes. In my case once its playing a certain sample rate, it will continue to play. It will stop sometimes stop when sample rate switches, or skips a few songs and continue 2 or 3 songs later.

It's like it needs a few tries to switch the output to another sample rate.

When I hit stop, I can see on my DACs display its still in the last sample rate mode. So hitting play on a track that has a different sample rate than whats on the display can popup an error message too sometimes.

Obviously the trick (for me at least) is to let MC resample everything to the same sample rate.

I also 'feel' like this problem happens more on the HTPC (playing to the Teac DAC) than on my own PC, playing to an Asus Xonar to headphones.
Logged

InflatableMouse

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
Re: Teac UD-501 USB DAC
« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2013, 04:02:16 am »

When I use DoP output format (1x or 2x) the display on the DAC turns to PCM 176.4 or 352.8 kHz respectively. It does the same thing bitstreaming DSD files; the display just shows PCM format but doesn't switch into DoP mode.

Could this be a local issue or is anyone else having similar issues with other DAC's?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up