INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio quality  (Read 2563 times)

antoninus9

• Recent member
  • She's the combination called the Wabash Cannonball
Audio quality
« on: December 22, 2013, 07:37:00 am »

Hi,

I'm new to JRiver MC and just downloaded the latest version to try it. I have a SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro and output everything via TOSLINK to my DAC.

I set MC to use Creative ASIO SPDIF and then tried Creative WASAPI. I then tried all the other settings. The sound never changes. It's dull and lifeless compared to other popular media players when it should be as good or better.

It's as if MC isn't changing its output method when I select a different option.

I'm running Windows 8.1, if that matters.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Audio quality
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2013, 07:40:27 am »

That could just be volume.  Did you try the other volume options?  You could read about R128 volume leveling on this board.

antoninus9

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2013, 09:58:40 am »

It's definitely not a volume issue. The sound from MC is similar to a highly compressed MP3. I am playing FLAC files.

I have 3 other media players loaded and all are very similar in sound quality. Windows Media Player 12 is one of them.

I have no doubt that MC can work as well or better, but something is wrong in the setup.

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2013, 10:03:23 am »

Using ASIO or WASAPI Exclusive should be bypassing any kind of processing/EQ that is being applied to the card.
If you are using these features with other players, that might explain the difference that you're hearing.

kstuart

• Upgraded to MC22 Master using preorder discount
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2013, 03:13:17 pm »

What DAC ?

Mike48

• World Citizen