INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Basic Questions About Tagging / Auto-Import / Find and Replace  (Read 1425 times)

Zhillsguy

• Galactic Citizen
Basic Questions About Tagging / Auto-Import / Find and Replace
« on: February 15, 2014, 10:34:17 pm »

Okay....first of all, I have been using JRiver now for about a year and a half....and love it. The first thing that brought me in was the extensive DSP, particularly hp filters, which I use for sub protection. I am still a novice user, but recently have embarked on updating my small-medium (?) size music library (200+ gig). Until I really started checking, I didn't realize how many old low res MP3's I had in my collection (some going back to 1999), incomplete or inconsistently tagged files, etc. etc. When I started downloading back then hard drive space was premium, and everyone thought that 128 kb was "CD Quality". Amazing how much I managed to get over a dedicated dial-up, and how much times have changed.

My apologies if the questions below are answered somewhere in the Wiki....I have only managed to inconsistently get useful information there.

Using MC 19.117 now....

Auto-Import and Tagging:

For Analyze Audio and Video Files - My understanding is that MC skips over files that already have the R128 tags or sidecar files. If it needs to analyze files, and tagging is not selected, does it hold the analyzed info in the library (database) unless the files are changed, even after reboot? I assume since the sidecar .xml file is not a "tag" it remains unless manually deleted.

Do Build thumbnails, Get cover art, and Get movie & TV info work exclusively from the existing file tags, from the internet database, or both? Which one is higher priority (will good existing tags get changed in the library if the internet database is different)?