INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Server customisation  (Read 1268 times)

Orac

• Recent member
Media Server customisation
« on: July 09, 2014, 02:54:51 am »

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to all this media server stuff so please bear with me if my questions seem vague ..  :-[

I am using MC 19.0.146 and enabled the DLNA server which I can see OK on my Pioneer N-50 network player (it appears as 'Zen (MC on Zen)', where Zen is the name of the PC on the network). I can select on this and then I'm presented with 2 folders, Playlists and FLAC. If I select FLAC I then get a load more folders (Artist, Album, Recent, Genre etc.) and so I select Artist and I then get a long list of all the artists in alphabetical order. It takes a long time to scroll down to 'Yes' for example.

I was wondering if it's possible to customise the view sent to the Pioneer? By that I mean I would like to have another level under Artist i.e. A, B, C etc. (which is how they are physically organised on the PC)

If I go to 'Options/Media Network/Advanced' there doesn't seem to be anything other than an enable/disable checkbox. Is it possible to do what I'm asking or am I way off the mark in my understanding of how this DLNA server works.

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Media Server customisation
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 07:41:00 am »

Tools → Options → Media Network → Add or configure DLNA servers → Customize Views

Add a new category to the pane in the right using this expression, and drag it to the top of the list.

Code: (A-Z) [Select]
If(!IsRange([Album Artist (auto)], a-z),#,FixCase(Left([Album Artist (auto)],1),3))
You might have to restart Media Center (and Media Server, if it's running) for the changes to take effect.

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 07:48:34 am »