INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Questions about Video Format Conversion  (Read 6588 times)

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Questions about Video Format Conversion
« on: July 27, 2014, 11:54:12 am »

So I'm relatively new to PC video; until a few months ago almost all of my video watching was more or less direct from DVD or Blu Ray discs, but I've recently been watching more video directly from the PC, and have some questions about what can be done about the enormous file sizes.  Specifically, I'm curious about what folks' think about using MC's convert format function (or another similar utility) to save Hard Drive space.

So here are some of the issues as I understand them (please correct me if any of these premisses are incorrect):  

1) Most commercial video is compressed using a lossy compression method, so any attempt to reencode it will necessarily degrade quality/result in information loss to some extent, but may or may not be noticeable.

2) The accompanying audio tracks can be lossy or lossless depending on the compression algorithm used, and lossless audio tracks can be recompressed to another more efficient lossless compression method.

My approach so far has been to take what steps I can to reduce filesizes losslessly, by using makemkv to snip out special features I'm not interested in and using makemkv's FLAC encoder to re-compress videos with lossless audio tracks.  Using those two methods I can typically shave off 10% to 30% as compared to the original file size  (FLAC recompression alone has been getting me gains of 5% to 10%), but that still leaves very large files.