INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?  (Read 1975 times)

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007

Somewhere back in the mists of prior version of MC - I could have sworn I could drop in a field or take one out of the "Artist" view. The system used to tell me something to the effect of "This is a locked view - do you want to overwrite it" etc etc . And I would do so.

But as of v20 (or maybe earlier?) this view in particular - is greyed out on menus and while I can seem to actually add and remove a couple of fields within the main panel on screen - the changes only last the session and then disappear after next startup.

How do I get this view to "stick" and display what I want all the time?

VP
Logged

6233638

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5353
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 08:30:35 am »

I don't have any of the default views any more, but try right-clicking it, selecting customize view, and then disabling "lock view" in the advanced section.
 
Alternatively, drag it to the main "audio" section of the tree and select "copy" to create a copy of the view that you should be able to edit.
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2015, 08:36:39 am »

I don't have any of the default views any more, but try right-clicking it, selecting customize view, and then disabling "lock view" in the advanced section.

Will give that a go. Thanks!

VP
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2015, 10:14:31 am »

Tried the unlock and still no go.

I unlocked the view - made a few changes. Made sure they "stuck". Even logged off of MC and came back in. Seemed to work for at least that one instance

Then later in the session I return to the Artist View - still while unlocked - and the fields I removed are back and the one I added (DR ) is gone.

I give up :(

VP
Logged

6233638

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5353
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2015, 11:07:23 am »

Did you try making a copy instead?
As I said, I deleted the stock views a long time ago.

Then later in the session I return to the Artist View - still while unlocked - and the fields I removed are back and the one I added (DR ) is gone.
Are you trying to do this on a client connected to a server?
I'm not sure that view changes made on a client are permanent.
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2015, 11:27:28 am »

Did you try making a copy instead?

Just tried this - same behavior.

Seems I can make changes in the actual view window on one Artists albums - like removing File Type for example. But as soon as I move to another artist - say 2 down by clicking on the Tree - same view - the File Type field is back.

I am certain I am doing something wrong but as usual - I cannot make any sense of which view I am really editing. The view on the Tree, the view in the panel or what :)

Are you trying to do this on a client connected to a server?I'm not sure that view changes made on a client are permanent.

No. This is a standalone station with it's own dedicated library.

VP
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2015, 05:33:40 pm »

Wow - I even created a brand new view using the Artists template and it still will not honor my changes?

There has to be something else going on here.

VP
Logged

6233638

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5353
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2015, 01:52:58 am »

The only thing I can think of, is that it sounds like you are making changes when you are viewing items in the tree, rather than at the top level.
 
I don't really use tree navigation, but I would think that those changes would only be applied to that item unless you are making them at the top level, where they would apply to all items.
 
I'd also suggest that once you have the columns set up the way you want, that you save them as a preset to save yourself having to reconfigure them again until we get this figured out.
Logged

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8996
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2015, 02:08:17 am »

You don't, by any chance, have "Party Mode" enabled do you?

It's under the View menu, and will have a tick beside it if enabled. Click it to exit party mode if it is enabled.

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2015, 07:12:51 am »

You don't, by any chance, have "Party Mode" enabled do you?

It's under the View menu, and will have a tick beside it if enabled. Click it to exit party mode if it is enabled.

No Party Mode under my View menu. Shut that off long ago.

VP
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2015, 07:14:32 am »

The only thing I can think of, is that it sounds like you are making changes when you are viewing items in the tree, rather than at the top level.

Not sure what you mean here - but it's sounds promising :)

I really am baffled. I have never had a issue changing columns in any view, anywhere in MC - whenever the mode strikes.

I wish I knew what I was doing wrong.

VP
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2015, 03:15:30 pm »

Are you doing this on a client by any chance? The server will overwrite your changes ... I'm always forgetting to do this on the server PC, might have nothing to do with your case though  :)
Logged

Vocalpoint

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
Re: How do actually "edit" my Artists view so it contains the fields I want?
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2015, 05:44:06 pm »

Are you doing this on a client by any chance? The server will overwrite your changes ... I'm always forgetting to do this on the server PC, might have nothing to do with your case though  :)

No. This is not a client. Standalone install with it's own library.

VP
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up